Conclusion - To Hell's Canyon and Back 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2006

Conclusion

Wow, 37 days on the road. Not as long as my 1989 "Practice Retirement" tour but more than twice as long as any tour I did since then.

It was a good trip. I didn't get sick. No injuries. No major mechanical problems. I didn't lose anything important. Nothing was stolen.

Most of my route was very interesting. It only got boring near the end when I rode for several days in the western Cascades. Part of that was due to the stress of biking in a heat wave.

I pedaled 1762 miles (2819 km) in 37 days. That works out to an average of 47.6 miles (76.2 km) per day. I also hiked 51 miles (82 km) and soaked in 9 different hot springs.

I got 2 flat tires during the trip, but for several days near the end of the tour I had a slow leak in my front tire. That was apparently caused by a defective Presta valve stem. I solved that problem by replacing the tube.

The tour was very rewarding, my first time to see the eastern half of Oregon.

Wayne Estes

Oakland, Oregon, USA

Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGreat long bike tour for you! :)
Reply to this comment
2 days ago