Day 34: To French Pete CG, South Fork McKenzie River - To Hell's Canyon and Back 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2006

Day 34: To French Pete CG, South Fork McKenzie River

The last several days have been really tough days. Big mileage and big climbs. Today I will take it easy. I got up at 6:30 and walked over to the hot spring for a soak. The water temperature was maybe 103F. Perfect.

Early morning soak in Deer Creek hot spring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I went back to the campsite to make breakfast and pack up. Then I had another short soak in the hot spring. I finally got on the road at 10 AM. The first 10 miles were fast and easy, going downstream along the McKenzie river. I stopped for groceries and a frozen burrito at a store in McKenzie bridge. The grocery selection and the burrito were disappointing. 3 miles later I passed a much better restaurant and grocery store. If only I knew...

Then I turned south onto Forest Road 19, the "Aufderheide Forest Drive". I've driven the 8 miles to Cougar hot spring several times but this was my first time on a bike. I was surprised that it took less than an hour to get there. There was a 550 foot climb to get up to and above the dam, then several miles of winding road blasted into a very steep mountainside above Cougar reservoir.

Cougar reservoir.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I parked my bike at the Cougar hot spring trailhead, paid the $5 entry fee, and walked the trail to the hot spring. Not surprisingly, few people were there because of the heat wave. Nobody wants to go to a hot spring during a heat wave. The trailhead attendant (money collector) said that Eugene is forecast to have a high of 105F today! It's undoubtedly cooler up here in the mountains, but it's still hot.

Cougar Hot Spring is deserted when Eugene's high temperature is 105F.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I soaked in the lower pools at the hot spring. The upper pools were much too hot. I also swam in the finger of the lake next to the trail. I relaxed in the lush old-growth forest until 6PM. I needed a rest!

Waterfall visible from the trail to Cougar (Terwilliger) hot spring.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then 4 easy miles south to a riverside campsite at the deserted French Pete campground (1800 feet elevation).

The South Fork McKenzie river resumes after Cougar reservoir.
Heart 1 Comment 0
South Fork McKenzie river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today had a high temperature in the upper 90's F. It was a good to spend most of the day relaxing in the shade. A much-needed rest day.

Distance: 28.1 mi. (45 km)

Climbing: 840 ft. (255 m)

Average Speed: 11.2 mph (17.9 km/h)

Maximum Speed: 29.2 mph (46.7 km/h)

Hiking: 1 mi. (1.6 km)

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 1,563 miles (2,515 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0