Post-trip - Northern Indiana on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

Post-trip

Spent: $184.09 (food) + $392.68 (lodging) + $27.88 (firewood, ice, tire gauge, hard candy, pedals) = $604.65 total for trip.

Heart 0 Comment 0
GPS track for whole trip - Illinois, Indiana, and back to Illinois
Heart 0 Comment 0
elevation chart for whole trip - Illinois, Indiana, and back to Illinois
Heart 0 Comment 0

GPS track map and elevation chart thanks to www.gpsvisualizer.com.

This year, I added to the list of persons receiving my on-the-road reports - to a total of fifty-two (up from twenty-one in 2010 and four in 2009). While on this trip I received several email messages back from these folks - and many prayers for a safe trip. They kept me from feeling quite so on-my-own - Thanks everyone!

A post-trip note on updating journals by-way-of email: I love it! The day after I got home, the journal was done! Writing the report this way did add to the trip's daily workload, though. I finally got into a routine that worked for me: write the report in the evening before I went to sleep, then proofread and send it in the morning. A few spelling and grammar mistakes, as well as other errors, still slipped through. Those errors were corrected when I saw them - mostly after I was back home. Of course, the journal wasn't completely complete. There were GPS-track maps, locales, extra pictures, and the post-trip report to add. But all this could be done without the stress of 'getting the journal posted ASAP'!

Lastly, thanks to Neil Gunton [webmaster of Crazy Guy on a Bike] for this bike trip report website, which includes the ability to update journals by-way-of email!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0