Day 17 - ending at Morton, IL - Northern Indiana on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2011

Day 17 - ending at Morton, IL

rode on El Paso Bike Trail (Illinois)

Posted via email Fri Sep 16 06:32:02 2011 PDT

Awake at 6:18am after sleeping well. Packing went quicker since the bike was still half-loaded. Called Tahdra at 8:00am and had fun talking for about twenty minutes. Left at 8:45am, heading west on Route 116. Stopped at Burger King and ordered their BK Ultimate Breakfast Platter and coffee. Met two guys as I was leaving (at 9:40am) who were really impressed with my trip. Made me feel good.

A perfect day for riding - cool, sunny, and the wind blowing me home.

Not many turns on today's route, which I decided on using the bicycle maps. Took Route 116 west to CR-1200E, then south to CR-1400N. Going west on this road took me all the way to the Woodford County Line (at 11:52am).

Continued west to CR-2800E. Then I turned south toward El Paso. Connected up with the El Paso Bike Trail on the north side of town at 1:00pm. At Route 24 in town I diverted east to the El Paso Quick Stop for a soda and bag of cookies, which I drank/ate at the south end of the trail. I didn't feel quite so rushed today, since I wouldn't be setting up the tent tonight. So while sitting there I also caught up on some replies to email messages I'd received.

Finally left at 2:25pm. South two miles on Route 251 set me up for another long stretch west, this time on CR-800N.

Arrived in Eureka at 4:12pm. I was in familiar territory now, having made the trip between Eureka and Morton several times. Took a break at Eureka Lake, as I always do. Got to talk with the woman who runs an honor-system bait stand on the north side of the lake.

Left Eureka at 4:55pm, following my favorite route to Morton (using Irish Lane). Finally saw some harvest work going on.

Arrived home at 6:42pm. Tahdra was away working at Morton's Pumpkin Festival, but Isaac was home, and took a "I'm home." picture for me.

Later I went over to visit with my friend Jim for a while. Made up with Jim's dog Sandy with lots of petting for being away so long.

Back home I unpacked some and got a shower.

Tahdra arrived home with a piece of pumpkin pie for me from the festival. It's great to be home.

Spent: $5.62 (breakfast) and $3.20 (afternoon snack).

Went: 62 miles

Jeff

Day 17 - Pontiac, IL to Morton, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ packed and ready +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ heading west on SR-116 - Pontiac, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ bridge over Rooks Creek on N1200E Road - Livingston County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ checking the route +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ El Paso Bike Trail & Walking Path at CR-1100N - Woodford County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ snack at South Pointe Park - El Paso, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking north at I-39 from CR-800N - Woodford County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ I halfway got run off the road, and halfway ran myself off the road, because of a truck that didn't want to stop at an intersection. Through a ditch and back up, here's a picture from where I ended up: +

+ corn along CR-800N - Woodford County, IL +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ patriotic worm pointing to where the bait is +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ North Shore Worms - Eureka, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Eureka Lake - Eureka, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ along Irish Lane - Woodford County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 762 miles (1,226 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0