Day 10 - ending at Fort Wayne, IN - Northern Indiana on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2011

Day 10 - ending at Fort Wayne, IN

rode on Decatur Greenway (Indiana)

Posted via email Fri Sep 9 07:04:01 2011 PDT

Woke up at 6:25am. I had the alarm set for 6:00am. Maybe I slept through it. Packed up and went to the lobby for breakfast at 8:45am. Had a bowl of raisin bran, six mini donuts, two biscuits with gravy, orange juice, and coffee. Back in the room I called Tahdra to get caught up on home news.

It was still raining, but according to what I was seeing on the Weather Channel, this was nothing compared to the east coast.

Moved the bike outside under the drive-thru and packed and covered it. Ready to go out in the rain at 11:15am.

I followed Route 27 north toward Decatur, arriving there at 12:40pm. I turned right on Winchester Street, looking for the River Greenway Trail. Connected with it at Grant Street. I got a picture here, but after that decided not to risk the BlackBerry to water damage, so took later pictures with my Oregon Scientific camera. (Those pictures won't be available until I get back home.) My next touring camera is going to be waterproof! I followed the trail until I lost it, and later found it again. There's an impressive old double-track railroad bridge that the trail uses one side of.

I was keeping a lookout for a park with a shelter, to get out of the rain for a while. I found one at 1:40pm - Stratton Park. Had an oats and honey bar, and using the BlackBerry's Poynt program, found a motel within my reach on the south side of Fort Wayne. First, though, I wanted to see more of Decatur. Took off to find the courthouse. I found this town easy enough to get around in on a bike, and they had a lot of interesting (to me) things to see. Got a picture of the courthouse, the post office, and later Arnold's Drive-In (all with the wet Oregon Scientific camera).

Finally headed north out of town, still following Route 27. At 4:25pm arrived at my destination: Country Inn Motel. Was assigned Room #4. Left the bike outside while I partially unloaded it. Later brought it in the room for the night. Ate supper (pork and beans and ginger snaps) and called it a day at 10:00pm.

Spent: $35 + $3 (motel room).

Went: 29 miles.

Jeff

Day 10 - Berne, IN to Fort Wayne, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Adams Memorial Hospital - Decatur, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ double-wide iron truss bridge along Decatur Greenway - Decatur, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking southeast at St. Marys River - Decatur, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Decatur Greenway bridge ironwork - Decatur, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ wooded section of Decatur Greenway - Decatur, IN +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ I'd like to file a complaint! +
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Stratton Park - Decatur, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Peace Monument - Decatur, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Adams County Courthouse - Decatur, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ United States Post Office - Decatur, IN 46733 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Adams County Historical Museum - Decatur, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Arnold's Drive-In - Decatur, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 381 miles (613 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0