Day 9 - ending at Berne, IN - Northern Indiana on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2011

Day 9 - ending at Berne, IN

Posted via email Thu Sep 8 07:21:02 2011 PDT

Up at 7:45am. Finished my leftover Dr. Pepper while I packed. It was probably going to rain today, so after the bike was loaded, I clipped on the plastic over the gear. Ready to leave at 10:58am. 

Got back on Route 37 heading northeast. Winds were from the north today, but I was getting used to them.

Kris had provided camping options north and northeast, but I decided to the try for Decatur, and get a motel room there, since I'd probably need to dry out.

Turned east at Route 26. Came to Fairmount. They have a James Dean connection - possibly his birthplace? Their sign said, "Where 'Cool' Started." I came to a Subway Restaurant there at noon, so stopped for lunch. It started to lightly rain while I was eating inside.

The rain was light, so I didn't bother with the rain-gear when I left at 1:00pm. Continued east on Route 26, passing the south side of Upland, home of Taylor University. When I was a teenager, I attended a church program where a group from Taylor University gave a presentation on a cross-county bike trip some of their students had done. That was the first time I heard about bicycle touring. I tried taking a picture of the campus from across the road using the BlackBerry still in its plastic bag, but that didn't work very well.

The rain had let up by the time I'd reached Hartford City, so I was able to get a picture of their courthouse. Went north through town on a road a block east of Route 3. Went back to Route 3 to check out its shoulder and saw an auto parts store. Stopped there to buy a tire gauge, since the one I had with me wasn't working. There was road construction on Route 3, so I left town on the country road to the northeast - it was actually marked 'Bike Route'.

My next destination was the town of Jeff. Riding north I noticed that it looked like heavy rain ahead. Stopped by a tree to put on my rain jacket. I should have suited up all the way then. I figured that out a little later, and stopped at place that had at one time been a farm, but the buildings were gone now. It wasn't easy getting the rain pants and rubber boots on over wet pants and shoes in the steady rain. But I did and moved on.

Had to ride on a few gravel roads to get to Jeff. When I got there - no sign (it's a small place). Couldn't have gotten the camera out anyway. Later I went through Mount Zion (like last year - except this was IN instead of WI).

Turned east on Route 218, heading towards Berne, where I'd turn north to get to Decatur. Nice flat road, with enough shoulder for me. No end to this steady rain, and no park shelter for some relief.

Entered Adams County and started seeing things I would have liked to take pictures of - a survey marker, a gravel pit operation, two Amish buggies, and a large clock tower, but it was still too wet for the camera.

I stopped at the Subway in Berne, hoping for coffee, but settled for orange juice and two peanut butter cookies.

Turned north at Route 27, with the intent to push on to Decatur. As I was leaving town, I passed a motel - Black Bear Inn & Suites. It was nearing 9:00pm and Decatur was 10 more miles, so I decided to turn around and call it a day.

The desk clerk, Shelly, was very helpful, figuring out a place for my bike, and providing an old towel for drying things off. Everything wet got spread out on the floor in room 216. Took shower, made a pot of decaf coffee, and watched the Weather Channel (more rain tomorrow).

Oh well, at least I was dry tonight.

Spent: $7.76 (Subway lunch), $2.13 (tire gauge), $2.77 (Subway supper), $72.71 + 5 (motel room).

Went: 61 miles.

Jeff

Day 9 - Fairmount, IN to Berne, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ my tent site at Hidden Lake Resort - Grant County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ 'Where Cool was Born' - Fairmount, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ I see I didn't get the sign quote above quite right in my on-the-road emailed report. Anyway, a friend of Tahdra's who was keeping up with my daily reports researched and filled me in that James Dean grew up in Fairmount, and his gravesite is located there. She also noted that Jim Davis, the creator of Garfield, is a Fairmount native. I'd noticed Garfield on the sign, but figured it was because Garfield thought James Dean was cool. Tahdra's friend replied, "In my book, Garfield is cooler than James Dean!" +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Taylor University from a distance - Upland, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking east at SR-26 near CR-325W - Blackford County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ protected (somewhat) from rain on south side of a tree along CR-N100E just north of CR-450N - Blackford County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ my view from the tree +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ mining operation near SR-116 - Adams County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ buildings for mining operation - Adams County, IN +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 352 miles (566 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0