Arriving into Alsace + Staying with Nicolas - The Long Journey East - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2022 to July 18, 2022

Arriving into Alsace + Staying with Nicolas

I Ieft Augon and Alina's late in the morning and stocked up on some food in the supermarket. By the time I got going it was 12 and another scorching day, I didn't have too far to travel though so wasn't in a rush. I planned to stay with Nicolas, a man I connected with though WarmShowers. I was a little apprehensive about staying with someone I've just spoke to online but was still excited to meet someone new.

I entered back into France though Shengen and had to cycle up some actual hills for the first time in this trip. It felt great to have a change of scenery and challenge myself more, it was hard work in the afternoon sun but was very rewarding speeding down the hills.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

After a beautiful and much day than expected riding though French vineyards in the countryside I made it to Nicolas' flat. I could finally do some laundry and enjoy a cold shower after such a hot day. It was really fun cooking together and sharing stories about our adventures. He told me about a round the world trip he was planning which was very inspiring. His route went further south though Europe and the Balkans to mine. I am considering doing something similar as Slovenia and Croatia sound like great places to pass though. We chatted until late in the evening and covered so many topics, we discussed his similar experience of struggling to portray the "crispiness" of events after returning and finding the balance of living fully in the moment vs writing and taking photos etc.

After a much needed rest on a very comfy sofa bed I cycled with Nicolas to his work with him and said goodbye after a great time spent together.

It felt amazing riding though the Alsace hills, I was honestly feeling pretty bored of the flat terrain in northern France so now I could enjoy a more varied and natural landscape and the rustic towns along the way.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Finally found some ripe pears!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Stocking up for the road ahead
Heart 4 Comment 1

I found a protected forest area where I decided to find a camp spot and water. I wandered around for ages searching for the source of this stream on the map and this small lake. I eventually found the source but it was so dry and swarming with flies so I tried to find something downstream, it took a while but i was so relieved when I could hear running water in the distance and I wouldn't go thirsty tonight and can cook!

Yum
Heart 2 Comment 0
Not quite the fresh swimming spot I'd hoped for
Heart 2 Comment 0
No pictures of the final product as I was too hungry
Heart 3 Comment 0

Sat in my tent later I could see forest rangers passing right near me but luckily didn't come spot me as I'd probably be asked to leave. Also there were a lot of animals I could hear moving around my tent which was a little distracting but I put in my ear plugs and tried to ignore them.

Day 7
Heart 0 Comment 0
Day 8
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 160 km (99 miles)
Total: 9,565 km (5,940 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0