Exploring Strasbourg - The Long Journey East - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2022

Exploring Strasbourg

Had a pretty easy ride planned today so I can explore Strasbourg more and avoid the 39° heat. Also because of the climbing yesterday it was downhill most the way into the city!

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Arrived into Strasbourg mid day and immediately fell in love with the place. The combination of German and French architecture made for a really interesting fairytale experience and the Notre Dame cathedral was breath taking. I never viewed the inside unfortunately but the level of detail on the 142m Gothic Goliath was spectacular.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

After a few errands and some more sightseeing, I found a shaded spot in the park and caught up with friends over the phone. Tried to make a dent in the week of journalling I had neglected too but didn't get very far. I considered more about changing my route to travel though Slovenia and Croatia, before I was worried about the heat but after this last week of 35+ degrees I think I could manage ok.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I headed to meet my lovely WarmShowers host Nadége where we cooked up some tasty food together and chatted about life and adventures out in the evening sun.

Making friends with Gustar
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 9,905 km (6,151 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0