A Jazzy day in Luxembourg city - The Long Journey East - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2022

A Jazzy day in Luxembourg city

It was a slimey start to the day when I looked out of my tent and saw the local snails had had a party over my shoes and socks.

Yuk
Heart 2 Comment 0

Felt pretty tired after a week's riding and wanted rest day. I debated missing out Luxembourg city as I had nowhre to stay and it was a detour but decided to go anyway to treat myself to dinner instead of a bed.

Picked blackberries with an old man and he chatted to me even though I couldn't understand much. Was a pleasant interaction, I wonder what he was telling me though as it sounded exciting.

 It was a big change to be in such a well developed city on Saturday evening around everyone so well dressed. I threw on my creased shirt and tried to look classy despite having only washed in rivers the last week.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Got new sim card to replace the one that wasn't working and chatted to the guy in the shop. He told me about this area to check out with lots of good restaurants. I headed down and found a delicious Thai restaurant serving food outside, where I met Augon and Alina and their son Nisse, an Irish family living in Luxembourg city. They were curious about where I was headed with my bike and later Invited me to stay at there's, I very happy accepted. They told me that it's not normally this busy and there is in fact a huge blues and jazz festival on which made a lot of sense.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I asked the man serving food if he could watch over my bike whilst I explore the festival. My favourite band was the first one I passed playing in a small bar with a very angry and passionate keyboard player.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Chatted to a few people from all over the world at the festival and found out how much of a multicultural city. It was great to speak in English again, I was struggling in France to find any people I could converse with.

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0

I felt lucky to have problems yesterday and to have to postpone a day. Understanding everything generally works out and not to get too caught up in the negativities.

Made my way back to Aogan and Anila's flat where we chatted some more before I crashed on the floor.

This really wasnt the rest day I expected but I was very happy for it. I love how bike touring gives you the freedom to come across such experiences.

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 9,630 km (5,980 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Allison SpaltonYou're certainly making the most of your travels so far.. fab photos and lovely, friendly people along the way 👍😘
Mum xxx
Reply to this comment
1 year ago