Day 2 - to Bumpass, VA - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

May 11, 2023

Day 2 - to Bumpass, VA

Another beautiful riding day. Started out in the high 50s and hit 80 by mid day. Rode through downtown Richmond to have lunch with my wife’s cousin. Staying tonight in my tent behind Belsches Kwik Stop

Will and I on the grounds of the capital. Will is a cousin of my wife
Heart 2 Comment 0
McLaren 720s which cost $500,000+. Parked right in front of the VA state capital
Heart 1 Comment 0
Interesting fella dressed in pink panties, tutu, and high heels riding a bike. Keeping it weird in Ashland, VA
Heart 7 Comment 1
This place sold shaved ice treats
Heart 1 Comment 0
Saw hundreds of these signs in Varina, VA. Still have no idea what they mean
Heart 0 Comment 1
Jeff LeeIt's apparently a protest to stop a giant new development of cookie-cutter tract houses in Varina. Short Pump is a town in the area that has already been ruined (in the opinion of these Varina residents) by development.

I've seen similar signs on every bike tour I've ever done. A lot of the time the signs protest construction of landfills, hog farms, etc. etc.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Dollar General 1. Counting ever “Dollar” store as I cross the country
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bicycle built for Bigfoot
Heart 3 Comment 2
Steve ClarkHey. That’s my bike. It was stolen 15 years ago and I always wondered where it ended up.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
David HendersonTo Steve ClarkThat made me laugh
I will return the bike when I finish my ride
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Coolness along the side of the trail
Heart 2 Comment 0


Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 124 miles (200 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Jeff CoreyGreat progress so far Dave! BTW we drove route 36 thru Kansas and some of Missouri , nice wide shoulders and road was in good shape. Mind you, there may have been a touch of wind! The Uneasy Riders are with you in spirit!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Frances LittinI love following your journey and wish I was cycling alongside! Why does it look so easy?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Robert OwensInteresting people you are meeting! 😄
Reply to this comment
11 months ago