To Sandpoint ID - Northwest Trails - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2023

To Sandpoint ID

Water, water everywhere

The forecast calls for heavy rain over the next two days. Ugh. I guess that’s how it is in the Northwest. Better suck it up Buttercup. At least we have a shorter day, just 38 miles to Sandpoint, and downhill overall. 

It’s not raining yet so we decide to leave early and ride to Clark Fork for breakfast. Chad recommends the Scotchman Coffee Roastery in town, about 8 miles in on our way. 

Starting up the gravel lane to the River Road
Heart 3 Comment 0
This handsome 1920 railroad truss bridge in Clark Fork has been converted for bike and pedestrian traffic. A newer highway bridge for cars sits next to it.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The massive breakfast burritos and the apple fritters are so good at Scotchman’s.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The rain is just starting as we venture west from Clark Fork on ID-200, also known as the Pend Oreille Scenic Byway. It’s a bit busy and we’re glad to get off of it after a few miles, onto Denton Road. There we’re up above Idaho 200, practically alone, with as good a view of Lake Pend Orreille as you can get in the rain. 

Beautiful Denton Road, the high road above ID-200
Heart 1 Comment 0

Barry’s isn’t up for my pokey pace and picture stops today so he splits. It’s all good. We have let go of feeling like we have to ride together all the time. It's been fine using one Varia radar detector when we're together since it that transmits to both of our Wahoo Bolts. I’ve ordered a second so we’ll both have one when we're riding alone. 

Ride your ride!
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonThat what Scott and I do and it works fine. I liked to keep moving that’s why I like my GoPro so much!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
View of the docks, the main road and the railroad tracks from Denton Road
Heart 0 Comment 0
Really glad I’m not on ID-200 with the cars. It looks so narrow on the bridge over the water.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I’m bummed when Denton Road ends and spits me back on ID-200 for 5 or 6 miles. It’s a two-lane state highway with not much of a shoulder so I’m in the lane. The rain is not heavy but it's steady. My flashing red Cygolite is nice and bright, I’m wearing a high-viz yellow rain jacket, and I can see in the mirror that most drivers are hanging back until they can change lanes, or at least moving over to a safe distance. A few don’t move over much, just enough to know that they see me. Fortunately I have room for evasive maneuvers. This wins the award for the most uncomfortable experience of the trip. 

I’m wondering how Barry is faring ahead of me. He is bright and flashy too, with his blinking Varia light and his yellow jacket and pannier covers. Later he tells me about a guy in a van who pulled up on his left and motioned him over so he could berate him for riding in the road. Barry explained that it was the only place to ride and wished him a nice day. There were other words, I’m sure.

Some of the tight icky part on ID-200. The mist in the air is fogging up my glasses and mirror.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is probably a beautiful spot on a sunny day, it’s hard to tell.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Gregory GarceauI remember that sign and I took a picture very nearby on my Northern Tier tour. And you're right, it WAS a beautiful spot on a (partly) sunny day.

https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/questionable/two-good-places-to-use-natures-restroom-and-a-bad-place-to-repair-another-flat/
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

The shoulder widens out as I get closer to Sandpoint and the rain is starting to ease up. Everything is wet including the phone. It's not up for taking more pictures. 

We meet up in Sandpoint on the Creekside Trail and make our way downtown. Barry's jacket is bright but not waterproof and he is shivering. At Baxter's Pub the server looks us over and asks if we'd like some hot soup to start. Yes please. Tuscan chicken for Barry, lobster bisque for me.

The rain stops while we're refueling and holds off as we ride on the Sandpoint Community bike trail to meet our WarmShowers hosts, Cyndy and Rupert. 

Drying out in Baxter's
Heart 1 Comment 0
Matchwood Brewpub is just off the bike trail. We'll have to check this one out.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Cyndy caught on to bike travel early in life from her home in Massachusetts. She went out for a long ride and thought "Gee, if I had stuff with me, I could keep going." Over a salmon dinner she and Rupert share some of their stories from touring all around North America and Europe, mostly wild camping and staying with other WarmShowers. They are enlarging my ideas about where you can camp.

Rupert and Barry on the patio
Heart 3 Comment 0

Cyndy encouraged us to stay a second night and we're really ready for a break. Sandpoint is the biggest town we've been to on this trip so far. Looks like a fun layover stop.

Sunset over the puddles in the yard
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 368 miles (592 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonSorry you had such a miserable ride! Barry’s reminds me why I like bicycle touring in Europe. I hope the weather and traffic improves for you!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Janice BranhamThanks, we have to expect some rough days. Things have improved quickly from there.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago