Should I stay or go: Waiting a change in the weather at Myvatn - Lookin For John Fairweather - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2013

Should I stay or go: Waiting a change in the weather at Myvatn

The plan was to ride the ninety-two kilometres to Mount Herdubreid. But it wasn't happening: low cloud, horizontal rain and wind chill was making it hard to face going anywhere. I had spent the best part of the morning on the campsite using the Wi-Fi before packing up and cycling off to the village's small supermarket by the petrol station. I was glad I had bought most of my provisions at the Bonus supermarket in Akureyri, as here is extremely dear. I just wanted a few extra items like muesli before a week or who knows how long trip inland; good to have lots to eat. I also bought two slices of pizza for lunch and sat eating them outside at the tables on the sheltered side of the building. I was still for heading off when I finished, but at the same time was dreading it: the weather being appalling. It was also now one o'clock, a little late for a ride which would take eleven hours. Perhaps too, the weather would be better tomorrow. I'd seen just across the road a sign information. There I could find out what the weather would do tomorrow. So, riding out pass the petrol station forecourt out on the road, I crossed over and turned in where I'd seen the sign: a place called Bjarg and a campsite as well as providing services and information to travelers. The sign on the door said closed till 14.30, though. And, looking at the tents swaying with the wind, but sheltered enough amongst the shrubs near the lake shore and then seeing the warm kitchen tent, persuaded me to stay.

Late in the day, the sun began descending over Lake Myvatn from it's hiding place above the thick cloud.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The lava formations of Dimmiborger.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hverfall, has lain dormant for four thousand years.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lake Myvatn.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The way back to the campsite, road 848.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0