Like A Drowned Rat - The Man Who Biked To Canada (With No Complaints) - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2016

Like A Drowned Rat

Moose Lake, Minnesota

Three minutes after leaving the campground I crossed the St. Croix River back into Minnesota, thereby fulfilling the "wisp of Wisconsin" part of my introductory "poem."  I enjoyed having that fine river as my guide for a couple of days and, yes, I did have fun in the state to the right.

Almost exactly at the point I passed the Welcome to Minnesota sign, a light rain began to fall.  No problem, I simply put on my rain jacket.  A couple minutes later, the rain stopped.  No problem, I took my rain jacket off.  Then the rain came back.  No problem, I put my rain jacket back on.  Then it quit raining again.  No problem, I left my rain jacket on, thinking I would outsmart the rain.  It didn't rain for the next 20 miles.  I stubbornly rode with my rain jacket on anyway despite having broken a pretty good sweat.

After a stop at the Hinckley Public Library (another friendly librarian, but not quite as friendly as the Grantsburg librarian) the rain came back to stay.  No problem, I put on my rain jacket.  It rained and rained.  I got wet.  I'm not complaining though.  Sometimes I LIKE getting wet.  Like when I go for a refreshing swim on a hot summer day.  Riding in this rain is just like that--except for the fact that I still have my clothing on . . . and it's not hot . . . and cars are spraying that delightful road crap all over me.  (How's THAT for portraying a hardship in the best possible light?)

I took that abuse for about a mile before I reluctantly decided to move 100-feet to my left and get onto the Willard Munger Bike Trail.  Highway 61 had great shoulders and nice scenery, but I have to admit to feeling a little better on the rail-trail in this rain.

Soaking wet and still smiling.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The rain ensured that I'd be the only idiotic bike rider on the trail today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is so far north that they don't even know about Mr. Mason.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've heard of the guy, but I couldn't tell you anything more about him--and I'm willing to bet most Willow Riverites couldn't either.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was a little premature in assuming I'd be the only idiotic cyclist on the trail today.  Soon after passing the birthplace of Ernie Nevers, I met up with a foursome of southbound riders.  They had very small packs as if they were going from motel to motel.  I gave them a cheerful "Hi guys!"

They barely looked up, and only one of them returned a half-hearted "hi."  I gave them the benefit of the doubt and assumed they were just tired of being wet.  Still, deep down, I knew those guys could never be librarians, nor could they ever conduct a no-complaints tour.

The big news is that I saw a pretty good variety of wildlife today.  Early on, I saw a tight formation of five big white birds flying overhead.  I'm just guessing here, but I think they were either snow geese or trumpeter swans.  Either way, it was pretty cool.  Shortly thereafter, a pheasant flew past me.  Redwing blackbirds chased me away from their nests along Highway 61 between rains.  I might hear their aggressive "CHK-CHK-CHK-REEEEEK" warnings in my dreams tonight.

On the Munger Trail I saw a bird that looked exactly like a great blue heron--except it was brown.  And a jet-black squirrel.  And two deer.

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 149 miles (240 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0