Day 1 - Looking For Dirt - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2023

Day 1

I call it a noodle ride.   Leo would call it a bumble.  But whatever the label, it was a slow, leisurely ride with a lot of stops on a beautiful summer day.

My brother and I had lunch in Sacramento before he took off in the car for home and I set off on the new bike in the opposite direction.

I once did a small section of the American River Trail but that's it.  It never crossed my mind to ride more of it.  I don't know why?  But I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was.

The route is mostly paved but I took off on some dirt side trails now and then, just to put the fat tires through their paces.  Being a Sunday, people were out recreating and enjoying the day.  Being over 90 degrees meant that some people were in the water.

No it’s not the Golden Gate Bridge, but I don’t blame you for thinking that
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is a typical section. Though there was not always tree cover. It was welcome though. Today was hot!
Heart 4 Comment 0
We had record snow in the mountains this winter so the river is high. People are constantly being warned about the strength of the current and how easy it can sweep a person away.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A lot of people were enjoying the water to beat the heat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Awww. Look at the cute little squirrel!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I rode a few hours and by late afternoon I was in Folsom.  The last few miles to the campground was uphill.   It wasn't steep.  It wasn't long.  But I am not in great shape.  So between that and the heat I felt pretty gassed by the time I made it to the campground.  Okay, I admit it.  I was REALLY gassed.  It's clear that the days of sitting on my ass need to end!  I need to start riding more!

I camped at Beale Point which is just east of Folsom and it was lovely, with lot's of shade and quiet neighbors.  Quiet neighbors are my favorite kind if neighbors.

The new bike was fantastic on her first day touring and she earned a well deserve rest.

It's occurred to me that she needs a name.  I can't keep saying "the new bike", people will laugh!

The only reason camp is semi-tidy is because I didn't need to bring that much stuff. ;-)
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNew bike... Hmmmm. Call it Newbie? :-)
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Karen CookHa! Except what happens when its not new anymore?

;-)
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0