Nelson - The Great Tasman Taste Trail - CycleBlaze

October 11, 2020

Nelson

After a road trip of 3000km we have arrived in Nelson to start our tour. It teamed with rain all day again today as we negotiated the remote Buller Gorge to bring us from Westland to Nelson, once again it was a spectacular drive, the virgin native rain forest was getting  the weather it loves.

Tomorrow we start our tour and I am feeling a little nervous.  The lady at the motel tells us the rain should go away over night.  The other problem is that about 10 days before we left home I dislocated my artificial hip (probably the most unpleasant experience I have had), it was popped back into place at the hospital and I was told to be careful!  I had a little bike ride before leaving home and it seemed to be fine so we can just wait and see what tomorrow brings.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 5
ann and steve maher-wearyHi Trish and Ken
I am so excited to see you posting on your trip. I have loved reading your blogs over the years. I tell anyone who will listen about your escapades. Glad to see you are out travelling on your bikes this year. Look forward to you getting back to Europe, perhaps next year and reading about your antics. You are an inspiration. My husband and I are 60 and just retired a year ago. We had a 3 month trip planned for Italy and Croatia last spring. Hopefully next fall!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesJust being able to click on a current Trisha Graham blog gives a comforting sense of normality, even if the jaunt will be short.

Steve
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Tricia GrahamTo ann and steve maher-wearyThank you Ann. Like you we should have been touring in Europe but this is a little compensation We realise how lucky we are to travel around freely in a country that is at the moment Covid free. Like you we are hoping for next fall in europe
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Tricia GrahamTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThey are strange times but it does feel a little like normal to cycle around in our island bubble even though everyone is speaking English!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne Gibson3000 km! Things are certainly far apart in your part of the world! I wish you a good start and that your hip stays where it is supposed to be!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago