Day 20 - still at Imperial, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2019

Day 20 - still at Imperial, NE

I'd gone to bed at 9:18pm last night, after setting my phone alarm for 6:00am. Awake at 4:00am. Checked the weather forecast. Strong southeast wind predicted for today. I'm staying here one more day! I reset the alarm for 8:00am and went back to sleep. I woke up at 6:15am anyway. I took a shower, then phoned my wife. She had story after story to share. It was 45 minutes of fun listening.

At 8:18am I had the bike unloaded, ready for riding to breakfast. I don't know how much rain fell here last night, but nothing looks flooded out. Using Google Maps search, I headed for MorningStar Cafe, which is on US-61 on the southeast side of town. Along the southeast section of highway I missed the cafe - by a lot. When I turned around, I had the full effect of the tailwind. What a difference!

The MorningStar Cafe is a hard place to find. The blue dot on Google Maps showed I was right there, but I was at a cattle sales auction house. I went on in through the door. Here it is - a very busy cafe full of farm/ranch workers and families! I ordered the "1 2 3" breakfast: 1 pancake, 2 pieces of bacon, and 3 eggs. Very good.

At 10:00am I was back at the motel, where I paid the motel owner for another night. I believe this is the first time I've held up for a day due to the wind forecast.

Back in my room, I continued on writing reports. At 11:00am we had rain with lightning and thunder. It was just a line of storms passing through, so it didn't last long.

I was happy with my afternoon report-writing progress. At 4:45pm I stopped to check the bike tires for debris, and added some air to both tires. I was waiting for the storm that had developed just west of Imperial to move on through before I went to supper, but the storm went south instead. So, at 6:11pm, I rode downtown to Broadway Steakhouse. The New York Strip steak I had, along with everything else, filled me up. My waiter goes on day rides, so we had fun talking about bikes. He bundles up and uses goggles for riding in the winter. 

On the way back to the motel, I rode around a bit, and included the west side of town for a sunset picture. Back at my room at 7:50pm. Worked on wrapping up today's report, and got ready for tomorrow's longer-than-planned ride, since I shortened yesterday's ride by about eight miles. Better get to bed.

Jeff

Spent: $10.54 plus $2 (breakfast) + $53.80 plus $5 (motel) + $27.63 plus $6.37 (supper) = $105.34.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Timothy SwitzerThat steak looks a little more than medium-rare? LOL!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
This steak was ordered medium-well, but actually had pink in the center. It was good.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0