Day 19 - ending at Imperial, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2019

Day 19 - ending at Imperial, NE

As far as I could tell, it didn't really rain much last night after the initial storm that chased me into this motel. Up with the alarm at 6:00am. Motel breakfast a short time later. Picked up two bottles of Gatorade and two Clif Bars from Sapp Bros. and was on my way at 8:13am. 

An overcast morning with the same strong southeast headwind. My goal for today was Enders State Recreation Area near Enders. This would be a day riding mostly south on NE-61, with a planned lunch break in Grant. For the morning, I just focused on getting to Grant. At 9:44am I'd made it to Perkins County. Finally, at 11:54am, I arrived at DJ's Bar and Grill, which put the noon mileage at just 19.2 miles.

Lunch was good: pork tenderloin sandwich, potato chips, and two lemonades. I finished eating at 12:35pm. After a few pictures of Grant, I was on the few miles of NE-61 that go east. That went faster than going straight south. But straight south and southeast riding was what the afternoon held. I focused on small goals . . . the next county line . . . the top of that hill . . . the next crack in the pavement. The wind was that bad!

At 2:44pm I did pass into Chase County. Thankfully, the hills were gentle-rise today. And the rain stayed away, except the area I was heading for was put under a "Flash Flood Watch" for this evening, expecting 1 to 3 inches of rain. "I'm not going to camp out in that!" I checked for motels in the area. There are two in Imperial, the town before Enders. That will shorten this day, and I didn't argue with that. 

At 5:19pm I passed the city limit sign for Imperial, and was checked-in at the Northside Motel, room 8, at 5:40pm. At 6:02pm I rode the loaded bike back into town for supper at Sweden Cream. There were lots of families there, talking about getting through the first week of back-to-school activities. My fish sandwich and caramel shake were good. I worked some on yesterday's report there, and worked on it more once I was back in my motel room.

I left it open with the motel owner for maybe staying here another night. The forecast right now is calling for the strong southeast winds to continue. I'm willing to wait one more day to see if they'll calm down. Anyway, I have reports to catch up on. I'll see what the forecast is in the morning.

Jeff

Spent: $7.68 (Gatorade, Clif Bars) + $10.54 plus $3 (lunch) + $12 plus $2 (supper) + $54.75 plus $5 = $94.97.

Day 19 - Ogallala, NE to Imperial, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 719 miles (1,157 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0