Day 18 - ending at Ogallala, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 22, 2019

Day 18 - ending at Ogallala, NE

At 3:15am rain was here, followed by some wind later. Not too much of either. Up at 5:55am. I got to see a small airplane take off from the airport just south of the campground. I walked over to the nearby Kwik Stop for coffee, then worked on the yesterday's report until 9:00am. Checked the bike tires and added 8psi to the rear one. I was packed and leaving the campground at 10:30am. Stopped at Kwik Stop for a Carrot Cake Clif Bar, two bottles of Gatorade, and ice. Now for breakfast at the nearby SNS Restaurant.

I arrived at the restaurant the same time as another fellow, and he invited me to share his table. Dave provided interesting conversation. He's a retired surgeon who had worked in Colorado, but grew up in Ponca City, Oklahoma. I had fun showing him pictures from my visit to Ponca City on a previous trip. Dave was out and about today because his wife was cleaning house and she said she didn't need him there in the way. I asked Dave when he would be allowed back home. He said, "Maybe August 28." As we were leaving, Dave gave me his phone number in case I have problems. What a fun breakfast! 

Leaving at 11:35am didn't give me much time to add up miles before the noon report. 3.3 miles is all. Today's destination was Sleepy Sunflower RV Park in Ogallala. On US-26 going southeast at first, but then I would have to decide whether to take NE-92 around the north side of Lake McConaughy or US-26 around the south side. Taking NE-92 was longer, but less hilly. I'll figure it out when I have to - after Lewellen.

The trouble with today was the southeast headwind - and the late start. I crossed the Blue River at 1:08pm, and was in Lewellen at 1:20pm. I went into town to their park for a break, and to make up my mind for which route to take. I wanted to see Ash Hollow State Historical Park, so US-26 won out.

I passed by the US-26/NE-92 junction at 2:00pm, and was at the entrance to Ash Hollow Park at 2:20pm. After an over-the-pavement stream crossing, there was quite a hill I had to walk up. I was at the visitor center at 2:38pm. After paying the $2 entrance fee, I walked around the museum and watched a video presentation. Seeing the spring and the cave was next. It was a long downhill walk to the spring, and all there was to see was a lake - but it is a spring-fed lake! After a tiring walk uphill, I came to the cave. It's inside a building now to protect it. Ash Hollow is a beautiful place with some sad history.

I left the visitor center after an hour visit, and was back at the highway at 3:47pm. Continuing southeast into the wind, I came to the highway hill that parallels Windlass Hill. Pioneers used Windlass Hill as a way down into Ash Hollow. It was steep enough that ropes had to be used to lower their wagons. The highway hill isn't as steep, I'm sure, but going up it was work for me. Half riding and half walking, I was at the top at 4:35pm, but then needed a 15 minute break. This day was getting away from me! 

The rest of the late afternoon/early evening riding was in a fairly treeless area, and I kept my eye on storms developing behind me. And there was still the headwind fight. Whenever the highway curved east, it was a little easier. US-26 is a few miles away from Lake McConaughy, but I could see the lake, from time to time, from the ridge the highway is on.

After a break to check weather radar, I turned on my flashers (at 7:30pm). By 7:55pm I needed my headlight. With rain on the way, and it being dark already, I decided to ditch the camping plans and go for a motel. When I got closer to town there was a significant downhill, one that I could coast down without pedaling against the wind. I stopped under a street light to check for motels using my phone. They are all near I-80.

I made the turn south into Ogallala at 8:05pm. More coasting downhill on a nearly deserted main street. There was close-by lightning and thunder by the time I neared the I-80 interchange. I rode over to Travelodge. They had a room, and I could keep my bike inside. I rolled the bike into room 112 at 9:00pm. It started raining at 9:10pm!

I went back to the lobby to see if they have guest laundry machines. They do! So I spent the rest of my evening taking a shower, doing laundry, and selecting pictures for the report. Oh, and also eating a pack of Hostess chocolate "donettes" I purchased from the nearby Sapp Bros. truck stop. Bed at 12:25am.

Jeff

Spent: $1.28 (coffee) + $6.96 (ice, Gatorade, Clif Bar) + $8.57 plus $3 (breakfast) + $2 (entrance fee) + $76.37 plus $5 (motel) + $2 (laundry machines) + $1.99 (donuts) = $107.17.

Day 18 - Oshkosh, NE to Ogallala, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Ash Hollow amenities +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking west from near the visitor center - Ash Hollow State Historical Park +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ 5:45pm - my first glimpse of Lake McConaughy, though I didn't know it at the time +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a lonely section of US-26 - Keith County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 673 miles (1,083 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonGood for you! I don’t think there are many things in life that make me happier than reaching shelter just before the storm arrives.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
I definitely agree. Sometimes it works out, and sometimes it doesn't.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago