A day in Munich - Reaching New Heights - CycleBlaze

September 11, 2021

A day in Munich

Yesterday’s trip from Paris to Munich was fairly uneventful. I had previously uploaded my vaccine card and filled out the German pre-entry form to Lufthansa so there were no issues at check-in. Although each European country has its own and varied set of entry requirements forms, if you pay attention and follow instruction everything goes quite smoothly.

 It was late afternoon by the time I arrived at my hotel in the old quarter of Munich. I unpacked and assembled by bike (aka Vivien George), and noticed there was a bit of drag on the rear wheel. On a cheerier note, I found a home for my three new traveling companions that were a birthday gift from Carla. By that time, it was almost 7:30 and I decided to venture no farther than the hotel wine bar for a surprisingly good meal of kohlrabi salad and grilled trout. As tired as I was, I had a fitful night sleep – a combination of pre-tour anxiety and worry about my rear disc brakes.

Vincent welcomes our new touring buddies to their new home in the handlebar bag
Heart 4 Comment 0

The first order of business the next day was a trip to the bike shop. Fortunately, there were several within walking distance – I feared doing more damage if I rode the bike before expert evaluation. The verdict was mixed: a slight warp to the rear disc resulting in a minor amount of drag, but not too serious. As they had no replacement discs, I rode away resigned to the fact that I would have to work just a wee bit harder over the coming month. That’s when I noticed a problem with the electronic shifting – the front derailleur wouldn’t shift to the small chain ring. This had happened in Wyoming and we McGyvered a way to move the chain to the small ring, where it stayed for the last three days of the trip. The problem was due to a faulty wire, but I thought replacing wire back in NC had done the trick. Clearly, I needed to address the problem before heading south over the Alps. Unfortunately, the nearby bike shops had no experience with electronic shifters. I needed to be in Salzburg on Monday and hoped I could find help there.

The rest of the day was spent as a tourist - visiting a camera store for lens cleaning supplies; stumbling into IAA Mobility, a massive auto/transportation expo that encompassed most of central Munich; enjoying my first strudel and a coffee while seeking shelter from the rain in Marienplatz; and wandering through city streets. I found a small Italian cafe where I had the most decadent meal of spaghetti alla forma di parmigiano with black truffles. 

Crowds were lined up in the Max-Joseph Plaza to see the latest from BMW
Heart 2 Comment 0
Mural atop the Bayerische Staatsoperopera - an opera house and performing arts center
Heart 3 Comment 1
Peggy MookLovely! Is it a mosaic?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Odeonsplatz - One of the two Lions of Feldherrnhalle, the Theatinerkirche, and a glimpse of IAA Mobility
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Mercedes-Benz exhibit dominated Odeonsplatz
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now this is a muscle car!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bamboo bikes
Heart 6 Comment 0
The New Town Hall (Neue Rathaus) in Marienplatz
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bike seats and baskets make a nice table in a pinch
Heart 3 Comment 0
Museum of Five Continents
Heart 0 Comment 0
Close-up of pillar at Museum of Five Continents
Heart 3 Comment 2
Peggy MookThese Heraklean telamons are fabulous! Working hard to hold up the facade.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Peggy MookGlad to have a classicist following along to help explain Roman architecture. - not that I know what a Telekom is! What’s with the dog face??
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Regierung von Oberbayern - Government offices
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the Isar
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Maximilianeum from an island in the Iser River
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Maximilianeum
Heart 1 Comment 0
Atop the Maximilianeum
Heart 3 Comment 1
Peggy MookHi, Susan! The Germans really do embrace Classical sculpture, don’t they?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Looking south along the Iser River
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking north along the Isar River
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Maximilian Gardens
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Friedensengel - Angel of Peace monument in the Maximilian Gardens
Heart 3 Comment 0
Mosaic at the base of the Friedensengel
Heart 2 Comment 2
Peggy MookYes! Karyatids!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterKarystuds- maybe human pillars? You’ll have to join me on my next tour in Italy!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Back at the hotel I mucked around with the plugs on electronic shifters and went to bed hoping for proper shifting and a promising beginning to this last tour of my birthday trifecta. After all, good things do come in threes!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Scott AndersonI’m sorry to hear about your warped disc, but you might try stopping in at another bike shop when you get to Salzburg. I suffered one of these when we a river in Minneapolis back in June and stopped in at a bike shop, like you hoping they could replace it. They didn’t though - they straightened it! There’s a tool for this - a warp remover - and if you’re lucky enough to find a shop that knows of this and has the tool maybe you can ge t it repaired. It didn’t take long at all. I’ll see if I can find a photo of the tool, and maybe you could use it as a visual aid.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonFound it. It’s a rotor truing fork, made by Park Tools: https://www.parktool.com/product/rotor-truing-fork-dt-2. The Park Tools website also has an article on how to use it, either to true it on the bike or (better and more accurately) on a truing stand: https://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/disc-brake-rotor-truing.

It looks like a pretty basic procedure if you were in luck and found the right bike shop.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonThanks a bunch Scott. I’ve found a bike shop in Salzburg that looks promising. I’ll stop in later today when I get to town. See you soon!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Susan CarpenterThis place? http://www.stadtrad.at/kontakt/

It’s only a few blocks from our hotels and looks like a real repair shop. We’ll probably stop by there ourselves before leaving town to see if they’ll replace our brake pads.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonYou certainly got around in Munich, and even saw some of the IAA! I wish you could have caught some of the large anti-automobile demo. I didn't join them because I don't like riding in large groups, but I read that 25,000 cycists and walkers came into the city from Munich's surroundings, demonstrating for less cars and more infrastructure for bikes and public transport in the city. ... Hope you can get your bike fixed in Salzburg!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lucy MartinWishing you the best on the repairs. Hoping you don’t have to do the tour at warp speed. 🚀
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Laura ChiharaFingers crossed that your electronic shifting problems is easily solved!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike AylingTo Scott AndersonLooks like a useful item to have in your tool kit if you travel a lot with disc brakes.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen JonesType your comment here
Reply to this comment
2 years ago