Lazy Rainy Beach Day - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

September 26, 2015

Lazy Rainy Beach Day

I woke up early this morning to thunder and lightening. It didn't start raining until about 7 a.m., and the electricity went off at the same time. I was boiling some eggs for today's ride. I haven't eaten them yet, so I'm not sure if they're fully cooked.

The office at the hotel opened at 9, and the electricity came back on at the same time. I walked over to the office and asked if I could stay another night. The answer was yes, but I would have to switch rooms. I said okay. The person at reception asked if he could help with my bags. I told him I had to get packed up. Checkout is at noon, I thought I had a couple of hours. However the cleaning lady showed up at my door in about 10 minutes.

I packed up and washed my dishes, and reception showed up to help me move and to get the key before I was ready. So I went ahead and finished getting ready and moved.

The only glitch was my bike. The first room was accessed through the outdoor terrace, up a half flight of stairs. I had kept the bike on the terrace. The new room is accessed up 2 flights of stairs to a hallway. There is still a terrace, but access is from inside the room. There isn't a good place for the bike. The reception guy suggested a covered place for my bike, in the staff area, but as I was putting it there some other staff member objected. It ended up on the terrace of the room used by the cleaning lady, which is a basement room under my first room.

Later I went back to reception to pay for the additional night. There was someone different there. He said the weather was very bad, and I agreed. Then he added "and you are stuck." I agreed with him out loud, but I thought to myself "I'm not stuck. I'm making an intelligent decision not to ride in the rain and thunderstorm."

It has continued to rain and thunder all day. Earlier, the beach was wet and grey, but accessible.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Now the beach is cut off from the hotel by a flood.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The parking area, across the street, is flooded too. I think many of the other guests have left. I'm not sure what the deal was with changing rooms and the hurry to clean. They're closing for the season in another week. There is no restaurant here, so I'm eating from the Lidl grocery down the street.

The forecast has rain until Wednesday. I hope it shifts to just rain without the thunder and lightening. I plan to leave tomorrow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0