To Xanthi: It didn't rain - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2015

To Xanthi: It didn't rain

I looked at 2 different forecasts for the weather today. The Norwegian website, yr.no predicted rain all day. Accuweather predicted rain starting about 3 p.m. In an effort to make sure I got to wherever I was going to before the rain started, I was up early and out the door. It doesn't really get light until 7:30 or so, and I was pedalling by 7:45.

There really was not much remarkable about today's ride. It started off with a bit of a climb, and was up and down and up and down for a while, with the coast coming into view periodically.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The city of Kavala was only 8 miles into the ride, and my first potential bail out point if it were raining buckets like it did yesterday. It was still dry, so I took advantage of the big city and stopped for some cash at an ATM. Then I met a group of cyclists who were loading up their cars to go to an MTB race. Given the mountains here, that could be exceptionally challenging. We chatted for a while. They asked me about my trip, and suggested that next year the Tour de France should have a new category: with bags.

Kavala has some historical bits that would merit some sightseeing, but I had just taken my day off at the beach in the rain. The road took me through the aquaduct though, which was pretty cool.

The aquaduct in Kavala.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The aquaduct is part of the city, and the road goes right through it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After Kavala, the road pulled inland, and was mostly flat for quite a while. It had heated up and I stopped to pour water over my head before reaching Xanthi, where I've stopped for the night.

Good thing I studied all that math and physics, and learned the Greek alphabet. That's Xanthi in 27 km, the town I'm aiming for today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Even more exciting than Xanthi, this sign indicates Turkey ahead!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Xanthi has a pedestrian center, distinct from it's old town. I wandered around, looking for some dinner. A lot of places are closed on Sunday, and I ended up at a kebab place in the center. The center seemed mostly asleep. Then I found the old town, and it was hopping. I managed to get some ice cream there, and then walked back to my Hotel, the Hotel Paris. I stopped at a Lidl, hoping to pick up some drinks and snacks, but it was closed due to Sunday, too. It never did rain today.

Statue in a park near Xanthi center.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The old town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Greek Orthodox church in Xanthi center.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Xanthi old town.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 km (42 miles)
Total: 3,057 km (1,898 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0