I'm in Istanbul! - Heading mostly South through Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

October 5, 2015

I'm in Istanbul!

I was up bright and early, and left the hotel at 6:30, before breakfast, included in the room rate, was available. I had tried to negotiate a discount based on not eating breakfast, but it hadn't worked.

With the 6:30 departure from the hotel, I was at the ferry terminal at 6:35 for the 7:30 ferry. The terminal wasn't open yet. There is an automatic machine outside for buying tickets, and with the help of someone who could translate the prompts for me, I tried to buy my ticket. The machine wouldn't take my credit card, so I had to wait until the office opened at 7. I went in through the security screening, and they just let me walk the bike past the luggage x-ray system. I waited a few minutes for the ticket office to open, and bought my ticket with no problem. Then I waited for the passenger lounge to open. After I got into the lounge, which was just an indoor waiting area, I waited for the gate to the outside to open. Once I was outside, I waited for the gate to board the ferry to open. Even with all those waiting points, we took off on time.

Leaving Bandirma, early in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ferry was a fast catamaran, and passengers were not allowed outside during the trip. I had a seat assignment near the front in the middle, so I had absolutely no view of the water. Once we were moving, I wandered around a bit, and finally took a seat upstairs with a little bit of a view.

On the FastCat catamaran ferry from Bandirma to Istanbul. My bike picked up a coating of salt spray while riding on the back of the ferry.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Arrival at the Yenikapi ferry terminal, Istanbul.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We arrived in Istanbul at about 10:45. I found my way out of the ferry terminal, following prompts from my Garmin, but then got messed up in some construction. I ended up on some of the narrow brick roads that are typical of old Istanbul. I found my hotel, but it was early so I didn't even ask about checking in. I sat in a park for a little while, and then went over to the Little Hagia Sophia, which was close by.

I talked with several people about my bike trip. I had the loaded bike with me, so people were noticing. It was quite a change from the last couple of months, and having people speaking English and curious about the trip was a novelty. The first couple I spoke with were from California. I think the last time I spoke with another American other than my friends living near Budapest was back in Vilnius!

I had lunch on the rooftop terrace of a nearby restaraunt. The man outside who was inviting people in agreed to watch my bike. It was really a late breakfast, as I ordered an omelette. The waiter sort of sneered when I ordered and asked me if I wanted breakfast, and I said yes. The man who was watching my bike told me that the restaurant has everything, and I though an omelette qualified as part of everything.

Rooftop terrace where I had lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After lunch, I went to the hotel and checked in. I'm at the Saruhan Hotel in the Sultanahmet district. (Thanks, Len, for the recommendation.) It's a nice guest house not too far from the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. I have a room at the basement level that opens into a nice little courtyard where my bike is. Since it doesn't face the street it's quiet. Its clean, nicely decorated and a good price. So far, my only complaint would be that my room smells of bug spray, but I think that reflects on the efforts to keep it clean and nice. There is a rooftop terrace here, too, but it is only used for breakfast.

View toward the Marmara Sea from the hotel terrace. There is a big construction project going on next to the water.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 3,265 km (2,028 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0