Seeing so many Camino walkers - Trains, World Cup and Ashes - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2019

Seeing so many Camino walkers

Estella to Pamplona

Cold rainy weather continue on today, so my ride to Pamplona was all about getting there rather than enjoying the scenery. Most of the ride was on a secondary highway, which follows the main freeway, with a few ups and downs and one 4km long climb and then descend. As well the Camino de Santiago walking route is nearby for most of the way so I saw numerous groups of people walking, in the town of Puente la Reina, I estimated I saw 100 walkers. I even saw a few touring cyclist, mostly going the other way. Have barely seen any touring cyclist in my whole time in Spain. Many people assume I’m cycling the Camino de Santiago route and in Pamplona I meet a New Caledonia couple who are cycling that route.

So many walkers despite the weather
Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately I made Pamplona just after 2pm so missed the tourist information centre being open. So instead just road around see what I could find, with the citadel being the most of interest, saw road signs for France as well. As well local museums were closed and appeared they will be closed on Monday as well. 

Citadel, free to visit
Heart 0 Comment 0
environmental artwork in the citadel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The main reason I had heard of Pamplona, is because of the running of the bulls
Heart 0 Comment 0
A few rooms on the same floor and a kitchen. Just what I need
Heart 0 Comment 0

Was feeling cold from getting wet on the ride and since it had been cold had been wearing all my warm gear so getting dry and warm would be a challenge. Weather was clearing up with sun appearing occasionally but was still cold and with occasional spits of rain.

Therefore I decided if I could find a reasonably priced accommodation to dry off and do some planning for my first week in France.  One bonus for being on the Camino de Santiago route is that there is plenty of accommodation options and for reasonable prices and they have kitchens, so was able to find a place to relax. Staying at Alojamientos Pamplona.

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 1,844 km (1,145 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMy daughter hiked the Camino last summer.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Joel EmoPlenty of people do
Reply to this comment
4 years ago