To Rod Serling, I Apologize - America's Most Naive Bike Tourist Rides From MN to MA - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2014

To Rod Serling, I Apologize

Nelson Dewey State Park, Wisconsin

J. headed off to work and I headed back across the river again.  In Prairie du Chein, an older teen, perhaps 17-18 years of age, yelled out, "Get a f---ing car!"  I looked directly at him as I rode past and he stared right back at me.  I thought it a rather strange utterance since he was straddling a bike himself--a bike of the BMX variety.  I honestly could not tell if the kid was being hostile or ironic.  My best guess, based on his tone and his greasy punk appearance, was the former.  I regret not stopping and getting to know my tormenter a little better.  I might have been surprised.  OR, I might have gotten knifed.

The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong and I continued down the "Great River Road."  There were a couple of considerable climbs on the route, but they were worth the effort because of the constantly changing scenery.  From pastoral farmland to rolling hills to thickly forested bluffs to solid rock cliffs to a riverside park to a couple of cute little towns to wide open flood plains, this ride had it all.  Much of it was on very narrow, sparsely travelled country roads.

In the middle of the afternoon, I stopped to apply some sunscreen (probably too late) and drink a bunch of water.  While doing so, I talked to a group of cows.

"Take me to your leader," I said.  "I am your friend."

"Huh?" One of the cows seemed to say.

"It's true.  I have come here to serve you."

"Oh?"

"Yes, I even have a manual here," I bragged.

"Really?"

"Yup.  It's called "To Serve Cattle."

The cow shook its head and, in my mind anyway, replied, "Nice try jack-ass, we've seen that Twilight Zone episode."

"I know, I know--it's a cook book."
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got to the Nelson Dewey State Park outside of Cassville.  I have nothing bad to say about the campground except for the vicious climb to get there.  Also, I did not appreciate them hosting the world's largest gnat festival this evening.  It was very annoying.

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 238 miles (383 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0