Widespread access to potable water. Skip bottled water. - It keeps getting better - India - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2023

Widespread access to potable water. Skip bottled water.

Day - 11 (Dandeli to Belagavi)

The lodge, Crocodile Edge Dandeli, is owned by a wonderful gentleman named Eshwar. His brother and wife manage the restaurant a few doors down the street. Their 75-year-old, semi-paralyzed father is pursuing a law degree online—a truly remarkable and hardworking family. After hearing about my bicycling adventures, Nagaraj, the restaurant owner, hand-drew a route not offered by Google Maps.

A scenic route that even Google Maps didn't give as an option.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I followed this handwritten route through deserted forest trails once again, checking with forest guards to ensure a lower likelihood of encountering wild animals. Exiting one forest section, I stopped at a checkpoint for directions. The guard, having lunch, kindly invited me to join him. Though wary of recent incidents involving drugged food, I accepted and enjoyed his meal. This hospitality reminded me of my upbringing, despite my awareness of potential risks.

Beautiful forest roads will require a mountain/off-roading bike
Heart 3 Comment 0

Continuing through areas known for dangerous wildlife, I fortunately, didn't encounter any, but did spot an Indian Giant Squirrel. Riding through forested roads and grateful for my fat bike, I engaged with motorbike riders, sharing stories. The forest transitioned to paddy fields, cashew orchards, sugarcane plantations, and peanut/fenugreek farms. At a village water filter station, I enjoyed tea courtesy of the villagers.

Realizing the need for extra time to engage with locals and immerse myself in rural India, I also felt like an outsider, only 30 kilometers from my birth city. Despite linguistic tensions, communicating in Hindi brought humanistic interactions, motivating me to learn their language, Marathi.

My reflections after cycling over 1000 kilometers in Karnataka, India are:

1. Great potential for cycling due to people's curiosity and encouragement.

2. Roads are great, especially highway shoulders, while quiet, scenic rural roads are navigable.

3. Universal riding skills and awareness are crucial.

4. Vehicular patience and safety consideration were observed, with occasional yield situations.

5. A rearview mirror is invaluable, while widespread access to potable water was a surprising find. 

Potable water station at the Lodge I stayed.
Heart 2 Comment 0


Like all my previous rides/travels, I only went for potable water over bottled options to reduce plastic waste. Villages and towns in the state of Karnataka provide potable water for a small fee, and in the beginning, I was adding water treatment pills to such water. Over time, I have stopped using the water treatment pills with continued good health. 

Eco-friendly practices, like seeking well or borewell water, and minimizing plastic usage, are viable options in India, contributing to both health and environmental sustainability.

Today's ride: 92 km (57 miles)
Total: 1,128 km (700 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0