Day - 5 (Sagara to Sirsi) - It keeps getting better - India - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2023

Day - 5 (Sagara to Sirsi)

I had a wonderful start this morning beginning with a lesson on humility. I ran into an elderly gentleman in his 90s who wished me good luck and expressed his gratitude for running into me (!). I felt like an a$$ for not having felt so before he expressed those feelings.

Today's brunch
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride was again peaceful with the quite state highway meandering along ginger, paddy, coconut and areca nut fields. Now and then I would see peacocks and hear their calls.

beauty inspite of death
Heart 5 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltFound a photo match! Blue Mormon swallowtail.

https://www.inaturalist.org/guide_taxa/1375780
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

On a quite stretch, I was struck by sadness of the beauty I saw. I had seen a lot of these blue-winged butterflies but was not able to capture a photo because they are always fluttering. On this quite stretch, I found a dead butterfly allowing me to experience it's vibrant colours. 

These gutters can be small/large. No lane markings either
Heart 1 Comment 0

Here I always started to appreciate my fatbike's versatility and real use. Because its rainy season here, many a times the rain water creates "gutters/routes" along the side of pavement that range anywhere from a few inches to a couple of feet deep. 

Most of the times the vehicular traffic respected my space and let me pedal along the edge of the pavement. But there were occasions when I had to get off the pavement to allow trucks/busses to pass me. I had a rearview mirror and having grownup here, I "mostly" knew when to get off the pavement or stay my ground. On the occasions I had to leave the pavement, the fat tires (tyres) gave me the stability and handling that a thinner tire may not have.

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 515 km (320 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0