Day 15 ( Tarikere to Chikamagaluru) - It keeps getting better - India - CycleBlaze

October 28, 2023

Day 15 ( Tarikere to Chikamagaluru)

Traffic jam during the morning "commute"
Heart 1 Comment 0

A month or so ago, I never imagined returning to this part of Chikamagaluru or riding once more through the beautiful mountains I had previously climbed, sweating profusely. This time, I took the reverse route, and the experience was equally exhilarating.

After summiting the big climb in the morning.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I couldn't believe that we would be up there in a few hours..
Heart 2 Comment 0

First, I ascended the Bhadra Reserve Forest to Chikamagaluru, where I met Binay, a fellow rider I connected with through the Adventure Cyclist Association. Together, we tackled the challenging Sitaalayanagiri, a steep climb with a brutal 2000 feet elevation gain over 19 km. This came after I had already conquered some 3300 feet in 35 km earlier that day.

Despite the demanding terrain, today served as a beautiful introduction to the mountains that would be our home for the next few days.

First I climbed the Bhadra Reserve Forest to Chikamagaluru and there I met Binay, a rider I met via Adventure Cyclist Association. Then together we climbed the Sitaalayanagiri. That's a brutal 2000 feet elevation in 19 km after I had climbed some 3300 feet in 35 km earlier that day. 

But today was a beautiful introduction to the mountains we were going to call home next few days.

A sign cautioning the presence of tigers as we climbed the mountains of Western Ghats
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 1,505 km (935 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0