Day 14 (Ranebennur to Shivamogga) - It keeps getting better - India - CycleBlaze

October 26, 2023

Day 14 (Ranebennur to Shivamogga)

Indian hospitality

I started early today after spending the night in a guest room at a petrol pump (gas station). Even though I had thought of using my tent for the first time here in India, the boys working 24-hour shifts at this IndianOil petrol pump warned me about the possibility of scorpions and snakes in this arid region of my state. So, I used my tent but chose to sleep inside the building.

I hit the road by 7 a.m. to avoid the sweltering heat and met more kind-hearted Indian villagers, whom I had been "dreading". One villager invited me to his home for breakfast, even though he was busy tending to his farm between the critical hours of 7-9 a.m., which is when they have access to electricity and can pump water. I let him carry on with his work, and I continued my journey.

Kind farmer, Praveen who invited me to his place for breakfast. I let him continue his work..:-)
Heart 4 Comment 0

Then, I encountered more such kind-hearted individuals, including one who extended an invitation to his home for lunch. He was a teacher/farmer returning from his farm on a motorbike. I ended up stopping at his place, taking a refreshing cold water shower, and enjoying a wholesome lunch prepared by his mother. The apple juice she had made was so delicious that I couldn't resist having two glasses of it. After refilling my water supply, I resumed my journey. Another villager, a truck driver this time, kindly bought me tea. Fortunately, he didn't have change, allowing me to repay some of the kindness shown to me.

Riding along Sunflower and marigold fields..
Heart 2 Comment 0
50 shades of "grai"n..beautiful reasons to skip the highways
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's route took me mostly along back roads, offering beautiful scenery with paddy fields, areca nut trees, and coconut farms.

Towards the end of the day, I encountered a couple of young people riding a scooter. They rode alongside me, providing conversation and motivation as I tried to outpace the fast-approaching darkness. Before we parted ways, they treated me to lassi (buttermilk) and then baadam-haalu (almond milk). Each time, I offered to pay, but they insisted on covering the cost.

Today's ride: 130 km (81 miles)
Total: 1,458 km (905 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Peter BrownThank you for sharing your journey. It is fascinating.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago