To Sell or Not to Sell - Laos is More: The Minimalism Tour - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2023

To Sell or Not to Sell

When the most promising lead for a potential buyer of my condo showed up, my first reaction was surprising:  I got scared and didn't want to sell the condo.  None of this was making any sense.  I went to all this effort and made this trip in the first place with the intention of selling the condo.  Now that a plan was in place for potential success, I didn't want to go through with the plan and sell it.  

Not knowing what to do, I asked another friend who is a high school counselor for some advice and why this was happening.  He was the right guy to talk to as he had tons of Thai experience.  He basically said of course it's up to me what to do, but asked some simple questions:  has there been any success at the condo in the last 8 years?  Any gains or profits?  We know the answer to that:  none.  It has been losses and headaches the entire time, so why would it get better in the future?  But I found myself getting attached to this condo for many reasons, especially what had just been done to get it back up and running after covid.  This was like my baby.

Then he said, "Why not let others enjoy it?  You only stay there a few days at a time each trip, and most of the time it sits empty."  This is quite true, with the exception of 2015 when I stayed there a month to inaugarate the place.  Others have indeed stayed here, but with all the mismanagement I got hardly anything out of it.  The rental income indeed went to these scam artists I mentioned in the previous entry.

Putting all this in perspective it made sense and was at the core of my minimalism philosophy:  you have to let things go.  This condo was not worth keeping.  Depsite the attachments and the difficulty in watching my baby go, it was the right decision to hand it over for others to take care of.  With that in mind, I got mentally prepared for Monday morning's bike ride when after pedalling away it would be likely the last time I would see this condo.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Andrea BrownI hope you sell it. I agree completely with what your friend said.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago