Day C16: The Cleaners - Laos is More: The Minimalism Tour - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2023

Day C16: The Cleaners

It was another beautiful day in Pattaya.  I slept like a baby in my condo, and felt a lot more calm about the whole thing.  After all, many problems had been solved, and this time I had been more proactive in building the network and keeping in touch with good and helpful people.  Whatever garbage happened in the past with all the lazy agents and people involved in the condo brokering process could be forgotten and let go, there wasn't much point getting worked up over it.  

Same place for breakfast everyday.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The simple fact is that I was in Pattaya and what better place to decompress from the stress than here itself, not going somewhere else.  A huge plus about this place is the weather.  It is not immune from extreme weather and climate change in the world, but certainly protected from it.  Typhoons rarely come here and in rainy season (which is now) it mostly doesn't rain between the peaks in June and October.  In between is cloudy and sunshine everyday with the temperature not changing.  No wonder they say Chonburi province is one of the sunniest places on earth.  

I went to the swimming pool at Novana and continued to update the budget.  Given my international lifestyle and multiple income streams, it becomes exceedingly complex which is why I have to keep refining the budget and building on it.  The whole thing becomes like a craft, a work of art, and not restrictive in the least.  In place like Pattaya, or anywhere for that matter, it is absolutely necessary to have a budget.  Guys who don't end up being taken to the cleaners for real.

Poolside budget review
Heart 0 Comment 0
At some point the budget review moved to the beach. Out of curiosity I timed the bike ride: 8 minutes. A scooter could easily do in 5 min. People often ask if my condo is walking distance from the beach. It is not. To be honest with you, it is not convenient for any walking but if you have a bike or scooter it is perfect
Heart 0 Comment 0

And just like that, the professional cleaners showed up while I was working on my budget.  Their work was a little easier as I had done the pre-cleaning.  But I really needed them to get into the cupboards and clean mold.  I went back to the room and supervised the job.  They knew what to do without me even needing to explain.  They were all super friendly and reliable, and it was fun to joke around with them to keep up the good comraderie.  At times like this I wish my Thai was better but that's a future goal.  It cost a bit more than expected as the room was absolutely filthy, even after my initial work. Totally worth it.  They cleaned all the mold in every single cupboard as well the bathroom was spotless.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Next order of business was another shopping trip to buy air freshener and more cleaning supplies to keep a stock on hand.  As well I had to replace batteries in the keycard and air conditioner remote.  Thankfully the bedding issue was already solved because whoever was staying there, illegally or not, actually left some really nice bedsheets and the color looked great.  So I then tossed the old ones out that had cigarette burns or goodness knows what else.

I then began to realize it was crazy how the whole thing was mismanaged and how I had allowed this to happen.  To make a long story short, there are so many agents here it's overwhelming.  Most are bottom feeders.  If you can stay here full time and keep on top of these people who are managing YOUR PROPERTY, that's your best innoculation against these scam artists.  

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 1,755 km (1,090 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0