Day 7 - ending near Gas City, IN - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2022

Day 7 - ending near Gas City, IN

Day 7 - Logansport, IN to Gas City, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

Sleep well til 5:15am on what was a somewhat rocky surface. On my way at 8:15am. This is my longest planned day (66 miles), hoping to be at Marbrook Campground near Gas City by evening. Four bike trails to look forward to. But first, get along safely on the few miles of guardrail-protected US-24 I have to ride on. I made that OK, riding after that on side roads to get to Marilus Family Restaurant in Logansport at 9:00am.

For breakfast I had the Meat Lovers Skillet, which came with pancakes. The skillet was very good, but I was too full for the pancakes. I was offered a carry out container and bag for the pancakes. Also got ice for my thermos.

Worked my way through town, passing a Dollar General store, where I picked up today's Gatorade supply. Shortly after, I was on my way out of town on Wabash River Road, heading toward a section of the Nickel Plate Trail. I was crossing Pipe Creek at noon. The nearby trees made a nice shady place for a break. Noon report: 18.4 miles. Many more miles to go.

At 12:47pm I was where the Nickel Plate Trail crosses CR-400S. About 7.4 miles going south on this trail for me. Passed Bunker Hill at 1:16pm and Miami at 1:40pm. I left the trail where it crosses CR-1150S and headed east. I stayed on my planned route to Converse, which I'll admit was the way Google Maps recommended, but there's got to be a better way that doesn't have so many almost unrideable rocky gravel roads! In Converse at 3:47pm, I stopped at Big Dipper for a root beer float. Twenty-three miles left, per Google Maps.

Started on the three-mile Converse Junction Trail at 4:15pm. Its end was the start of the four-mile Sweetser Switch Trail (at 4:39pm). At 5:08pm I was in Sweetser, where I got a soft-serve at Trailside Treats. Seventeen miles left for the day. Ice cream stops are getting me closer and closer!

The end of the Sweetser Switch Trail is the start of the Cardinal Greenway (at 5:52pm). I'd be getting off the trail at Jonesboro, where there's an eleven-mile gap in the trail, anyway. I loved how this trail got me through Marion without traffic hassles. Several walkers and cyclists were using the trail. I got to try out my new bell. "Ding-ding."

I was taking roads east to get to the campground, but it wasn't a straight shot, thanks to I-69. I'd have to go a mile north to US-35, then back a mile south. About half an hour away I guessed (at 7:33pm), I called the campground to see if I could get a tent site with electricity (yes). The manager was out-of-town, and told me to call back when I was at the campground office. He'd direct me then how the get to my site.

The slow gravel roads this afternoon gave me time to be bothered about not keeping up-to-date on my journal postings. I needed another day off to catch up. I decided to use one of the benefits of being retired, and add an unscheduled day off. I don't have to be back at work the Tuesday after Labor Day this year!

My timing worked out with getting through the under-construction I-69 underpass. I was thankful. Made it to the campground at 8:13pm. The place is right next to the interstate, with all the traffic noise. I called the campground manager back, but got an answering machine message this time. I had to keep hold of the phone as I waited for a call back, since I was afraid I wouldn't hear it ring if it was in my pocket. I called again at 8:37pm and got through. I was directed to a downhill lane that led to a meadow. What a beautiful meadow! And traffic noise is a lot less here. I have the whole place to myself.

I picked site #9 and started setting up. I couldn't find my rainfly pole, and convinced myself that I'd left it back at France Park. I sent out my evening email with the sad news. Afterwards, I checked the "leaving camp" picture I took this morning. I didn't see the pole in the photo, so looked harder around here and found it in the grass by the tent! Also found someone else's lost tent stake. Happy ending.

The moon may be full tonight, or close to it. Makes beautiful light through the meadow's tall trees.

Off to bed at 11:00pm.

Jeff

Spent: $5 (trail donation) + $12.94 plus $5 (breakfast) + $3.75 (Gatorade) + $3.66 plus $2 (root beer float) + $3.05 plus $1.95 (ice cream) + $34.24 (campsite) = $71.59.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltIronweed

https://www.fs.fed.us/wildflowers/plant-of-the-week/vernonia_gigantea.shtml
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks for sharing your identification wisdom.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 289 miles (465 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0