Day 6 - ending near Logansport, IN - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2022

Day 6 - ending near Logansport, IN

Day 6 - Remington, IN to Logansport, IN
Heart 0 Comment 0

Packed up first thing after getting up at 5:02am [EDT]. Got a cup of motel coffee at 6:30am, then worked on report writing until 8:40am. On my way at 9:13am. Today's destination is France Park near Logansport, with breakfast on the way in Wolcott.

Passed a sunflower field after getting over I-65. Very pretty in the morning sunshine. Arrived in Wolcott at 10:08am. After a few pictures of murals in town, I was at the Wolcott Cafe, which used to be a movie theater. The cafe is in what had been the lobby.

Breakfast, an omelet this time, was very good. I left heading north, with a planned turn east at the north end of town. Passed the Wolcott House while still in town, and stopped for a picture. A woman walking by said I should go in, since they were open. So I had a quick tour, with questions answered by the curator. Wolcott was a businessman who founded the town.

Back on the bike at 11:12am. East-heading road W100N would get me passing Reynolds to the north. I wasn't there yet at noon. Only 9.5 miles to report today. At 12:35pm, I had to get off my route due to the road ahead being gated off. So south on N100W to US-24. That put me in Reynolds at 1:02pm. I stayed on the highway through town to a turn-off north to get back on route. The turn was by an older highway rest area not used now, as far as I could tell. I had a Gatorade break here. Ant lions had set up under one side of the pavilion, but the ants were living on the other side.

I passed through Monticello, and was back on country roads heading east, this time south of US-24. Touched the south side of Idaville at 3:27pm. After a few hills, made it to the Wabash River at Georgetown at 4:55pm. At 5:25pm, I stopped for a break sitting on a bench of a nearby disc golf course. Checked Google Maps for how much farther. "Two minutes away by bicycle." Sometimes, I really don't know where I am!

The check-in worker at France Park was very helpful in accommodating my request for a tent site with electricity. "Site D3, if it looks acceptable." It was, and I set up. Then I went back to the office to ask about what to see at France Park. She gave me a brochure and pointed out on the map what to see: the Italian oven, the water fall, the canal, and the quarry lake. The limestone quarry has an interesting write-up in the brochure: "In 1943 workers struck a spring that filled the old Kenith Stone Quarry overnight leaving equipment and tools at the bottom." Now it's a lake!

I was back from sightseeing at 7:38pm. Then one more trip to the office to ask if they have wifi (they do), since my phone had almost no cell signal.

Sent email message to my wife saying I'd arrived. Supper next from my lunch box. Afterwards, I checked my tires (no debris -and no tar), and added about 10psi to each to get them back to where they were when I started out (at 65psi). Near sunset I walked up to the highway to see if I could get a picture. Sunset reflecting off power lines was as far as I was willing to walk.

Last for the day was working on reports in the tent, then to bed at 11:30pm, with plans to get up early for a long riding day tomorrow.

Jeff

Spent: $10.11 plus $5 (breakfast) + $5 (tour donation) + $25 (campsite) = $45.11.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 221 miles (356 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0