Day 2 - ending near Fairbury, IL - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2022

Day 2 - ending near Fairbury, IL

Day 2 - Hudson, IL to Fairbury, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 4:20am again. Worked on yesterday's report. I was having difficulties getting it uploaded due to (I later thought) weak cell signal. Decided to ask Kris for help, like she's done before. I'll email her the text and pictures, and she'll upload it all to the journal. Thanks, Kris!

Today's destination is Ziegenhorn's Timber Campground just south of Fairbury. The place I'd originally planned to eat breakfast on my way there - Green Gables at Lake Bloomington, is closed due to a fire in May that burnt the place to the ground. So, I rerouted today's plan to pass through Chenoa, where there are places to eat. Considering that is farther away, I ate one of the cherry turnovers George and Kris had given me. If I'd rechecked how far away Chenoa ready is, I would have ate both of them.

I was finally on the road at 11:02am. Pleasant riding east. I was at the west side of Lake Bloomington at 11:55am. Where Green Gables was is now a graded lot.

I was at the lake's dam at noon. Mileage report = 6.5 miles. I rode on a short bike path southeast of the dam, then back on county roads.

I had two difficulties this afternoon. First, road closed signs were on the way I'd routed, and on several side roads, and second, which was more of a problem, road tar was sticking to my tires! I never had this problem to this extent, especially from roads that didn't look that bad. I kept going and put up with the clunk-clunk sounds from rocks hitting the fenders. Then at 1:23pm, the chain fell off!

I pulled over next to a corn field. "I need a break before I tackle this." So I sat in the shade of the corn plants eating a granola bar, and then my last turnover. I was so not wanting to touch that tar-covered wheel. It's a good thing I took a break first. That gave me time to think. "If the chain was loose enough to come off, maybe it's loose enough to be put back on." That worked! Then, when I loosened the axle nuts, the chain tightened right up, thanks to the weight of the gear. Just before the trip I'd stopped at Ace Hardware and purchased some external star washers (not knowing the size I needed) in case the internal star washer I had on the bike kept slipping, like it's done in the past. With the axle nut off, it was easy to see it'd slipped. I installed the new smaller washer and was done. No tar covered hands; no unload/load! Back riding at 2:04pm.

Continuing on, the tar situation went from bad to worse. I finally was able to turn onto a road that didn't add tar, so stopped and cleaned tar/rocks off the best I could. In the sun, some chunks melted off by themselves!

All the closed roads left me with only one option - get on US-24 several miles west of Chenoa, and I was there at 3:04pm. The highway has a narrow shoulder, but worked out OK.

I passed under the Chenoa I-55 overpass at 3:35pm, then stopped for a break at an informational rest area near historic Route 66. Twelve miles left to get to camp. Time for "breakfast!"

Chenoa Family Restaurant was the place. Had Papa's Breakfast Special with a vanilla milk shake. Almost no one here at the time. Left at 4:47pm. Stopped at Casey's for Gatorade and ice, then toured downtown Chenoa some. People noticed me taking pictures - more people than I realized. A worker at the library came out as I passed and offered that I come inside to cool down and get a drink. I told her I was OK, having just ate.

I passed into Livingston County at 6:32pm. A little after 7:00pm, I arrived at Ziegenhorn's Timber. What a welcome I received from the owner Steve! And what a beautiful place! As Steve walked me over to the camping area, he told me about the catalpa tree grove we were in, and how it kept mosquitoes away. We arrived at a great tent area with picnic table and fire ring next to a pond. Then Steve offered that I could stay in one of their cabins, saving time with tent set up. I liked that idea, so rolled the bike over to Cabin 1.

Shortly after, I met my next-door cabin campers - Calvin, Laurie, and their dog Molly. Calvin helps Steve with jobs around the place, so he knows where everything is. Later in the evening he turned on the lights strung through the tree grove, so I could see them. I also met Sue, the person who organizes outdoor weddings here. Everyone was so helpful in getting me settled.

After unpacking just enough to get to my clothes and sleeping bag, I took a shower. I was tasting a lot of salt as I scrubbed my face, thinking I must have sweated a lot. Turns out the water here is somewhat salty on its own. In bed at 10:05pm. This cabin-camping sure is easier.

Jeff

Spent: $14.46 plus $5 tip (breakfast) + $4.72 (Gatorade, ice) + $80 plus $5 tip (cabin) = $109.18.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 4
Mike AylingThat is going to take some cleaning!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
Amazingly, 1.5 day riding is all it took to wear off all the tar from the tires. Clean enough to roll into a motel room!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Shannon KillionShannon,
Yes! Glad I had fenders to contain the mess.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
marilyn swettAhhh - corn and corn under mid-western skies! Brings back recent memories of our riding in Iowa and Ohio.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo marilyn swettMarilyn,
The Midwest, for sure!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
marilyn swettNow it's corn and beans!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo marilyn swettMarilyn,
Memories of home for me.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 87 miles (140 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0