Day 1 - ending near Hudson, IL - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2022

Day 1 - ending near Hudson, IL

visiting Metamora, IL

Day 1 - Morton, IL to Hudson, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

My alarm was set for 5:00am this morning, but I was up at 4:20am - just like my schedule before I retired. Ate a cinnamon roll that I'd included with yesterday's carryout order from Aunt Ginny's Cafe, then packed the bike. My two GPS units locked-in on their signals just before 8:00am. The next door neighbor stepped outside just then with her one-year-old. After best wishes and a high five from her son, I was rolling out.

I had two destinations for today: Comlara Park near Hudson, but first, Metamora, Illinois. I've ridden to Metamora several times before - to visit friends George and Kris. I met George when we were both in the Electrician Apprenticeship program at Caterpillar. That was a few years back! George's wife Kris offered to serve me breakfast today when I got to town.

It was pleasant overcast on my way there. I'm still getting used to the camera on this phone. I was quite impressed with its zoom capabilities when I snapped a photo from Washington of the elevator at Cruger - three miles away!

I approached Metamora from the south on CR-900E, and was at their city limits sign at 10:21am. The 2020 census puts Metamora at 3,840. So there's lots to see. I spent an hour wandering around town to get some pictures. Of course, I missed a lot.

Their town square is impressive, as is the historic courthouse, where Lincoln had worked as a lawyer before his time as President. There is a statue in the Town Square of Lincoln and Melissa Goings. Seventy-year-old Goings was accused of killing her husband, and Lincoln defended her - and maybe helped her escape. During her trial, Goings hadn't returned after a break. Lincoln reportedly told the judge, "Your honor, I did not chase her off. She simply asked me where she could get a good drink of water, and I said, 'Tennessee has mighty fine drinkin' water.'"

I noticed that the courthouse would be open at noon, and decided I'd make a quick visit on my way out of town after Kris' breakfast, which I headed to after a few more town pictures.

Shortly after my 11:21am arrival, I had a cup of coffee in my hand as Kris set the table. So much to eat! It was great. More coffee afterwards, then I was sent off with two cherry turnovers in a bag for later.

Noon mileage report: 18.2 miles.

I arrived back at the courthouse a little after 2:00pm. The curator welcomed me and offered that I could wander around, instead of doing the guided tour. That worked well for me, though there is plenty to read and see. I was done at 2:28pm, and clearing town going east on IL-116 at 2:40pm.

I didn't stay on the highway for long, turning south onto Mennonite Road. It was pleasant riding south and east toward Secor - the only town I'd pass through on my way to the campground. Impressive clouds in the southeast. I checked the weather radar. It was raining (again) in Bloomington. I was in Secor at 4:23pm, and at Comlara Park Campground at 7:03pm. A little hilly after Secor, but still pleasant riding. 

I'd chosen site 39 by 7:15pm, and had everything in the tent by 8:30pm. Next, a shower. Afterwards I had a pleasant conversation with a newly retired fellow from El Paso, Illinois (I lived there in the late '70s). We both have been so busy, we figured neither one of us really knows what "retirement" is like.

Back at the tent, I worked on picture selection until calling it a day at midnight.

I'm including a first day selfie with this report. Keep in mind that it's before my shower!

Jeff

Spent: $5 (museum donation) + $24 (campsite) = $29.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 4
Scott AndersonWonderful story about Lincoln here, one I’d never heard before.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Shannon KillionI love this story. It is one that I share often with my penpals.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
Yes. I only heard about it after the statue was installed.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Shannon KillionShannon,
I like this story also. Humor is such a gift.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesLove it. Looking pretty good for pre-shower.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
You're too kind.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 51 miles (82 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy GrahamThe story of Lincoln is interesting. That old courthouse sure was small — suited the population I’m sure. Good clear photos are nice too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
They had the courtroom full of emancipation posters also, which made it even more crowded.
I'm giving credit for the better photos to the new phone's camera.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago