Day 0 - still at Morton, IL - Metamora, USA - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2022

Day 0 - still at Morton, IL

one day departure delay

I passed my eye and dental exams on Tuesday - no need for new glasses and no cavities.

It rained here a lot on Tuesday. Looking outside I kept thinking, "I don't want to be riding in rain that heavy if I can help it." Wednesday's forecast called for the same rain, along with a heat advisory. I contemplated delaying my departure by a day as I continued with last-minute packing Tuesday afternoon. Later in the evening, a different issue made the decision for me.

So, backing up to early Tuesday afternoon, I'd ridden my bike to the dentist appointment, and had moved the bike inside the hallway of their building, since it looked like it would start raining again. Afterwards, when I was backing the bike out the building, the corner of the door slammed into the side of my foot. I didn't think anything of it at the time (except "Ouch!"), but by suppertime, my foot was hurting bad. I put an ice pad on it and took a pain pill. Still, I could hardly walk. Using a cane to get around, I made it to bed, hoping a good night's rest would fix my foot. It did! Not to the point I could ride when I first got up, but by mid-morning today I knew leaving tomorrow morning would work.

Today I finished the last-minute packing I wasn't able to complete last night. I'm ready now, and I'm going to be more cautious around moving doors!

Jeff

Tuesday, August 2, 12:48pm - more rain on the way as I ride to the dentist
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0