Feuillade to Périgueux - Melo Vélo Meanderings - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2018

Feuillade to Périgueux

My B&B in Feuillade, Saint Alfonso's, is renowned for it's pancakes. BeBe prepares the pancake batter a day ahead with flour and homemade kefir so that the flour ferments overnight, which aids in digestibility.  The pancakes did not disappoint - I had three with butter and maple syrup!  And two cups of cappuccino. Fully fortified, I set off for Périgueux.  I had changed my plans so as to spend two nights in Périgueux and then take the train to meet Carolyn in Bordeaux on the 14th.  

It had rained again the previous night, but the day started sunny and bright.  The route was splendid - quiet roads through farmland.  I do enjoy agriculture, especially smaller, more diversified farms.  Though rare in Iowa, they remind me of my graduate school days in Western Massachusetts.  So, I was delighted to encounter scurrying farm cats, chickens, sheep, horses and cows.  After about eight miles, just before entering the Dordogne department, the route directed me onto....yes, another dirt tract.  Not this time.  

Signs of diversified farming in the Charente
Heart 0 Comment 0
My heart goes a flutter at the baa of young lambs
Heart 2 Comment 1
French scarecrow
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not this time - the road not taken led to a wonderful detour
Heart 0 Comment 0

My re-route resulted in a three mile detour, but it took me through the lovely village of Charras. I joined my original route north of Les Graulges and stopped for coffee in Mareuil. I was now in Dordogne, a region of France that I visited last fall for a few days of cycling with my sister Ann and her husband Jack.  Our cycling was limited to a few days in and around the  Sarlat-de-Canada and I had been wanting to return for more extended exploration of the region. It was good to be back in Dordogne, even though my time here will be abbreviated due to the change in plans.  Hence, I shall return.

Wood sculpture in the village of Charras
Heart 2 Comment 0
Entering the small village of La Graugles
Heart 3 Comment 0
Château De Mareuil, outside Mareuil, France
Heart 1 Comment 0
Espresso time in Mareuil
Heart 2 Comment 0

Just outside Mareuil, I came across a spring fed bath at the foot of some caves.  It turns out that it was a wash house for the village.  After numerous disease epidemics, a law was passed in 1851 requiring wash houses be constructed near a spring that provided clean, running water. Way to stop those microbes!

Caves above the spring fed bath house
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bath house spring-fed pool provides clean water source for villagers
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

About six miles past Mareuil, I turned onto D2, which took me all the way to Périgueux.  I stopped just past Saint-Just to eat my sandwich and saw a few other cyclists whiz by.  The road was well-surfaced and not too hilly, and I made it to Périgueux by 4 pm.  After cleaning up, I enjoyed the Périgord regional cuisine dining under the towers of the Cathedral Saint-Front.

Enjoying Périgord cuisine under the towers of Cathedral Saint-Front
Heart 3 Comment 1
Keith KleinHi Susan,
Wow! I ate in the very same restaurant on my recent tour. We really did cross each other's trails on our respective tours.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 546 miles (879 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Paul MulveyNicky done, and a great dinner location. I have had numerous similar dinners with fantastic views, but never on a bike tour, as i’ve Arrived at the destination from a business trip. But still, I look fondly on the overseas trip and the adventure ordering in a foreign tongue (for me, at least) in France and conversing with the restaurant owner(s) in French . You journal brings back great memories, thanks.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Paul MulveyThanks for your comment Paul. My French is pretty rudimentary but I am not hesitant to use it. I find people in Paris usually switch to English after I've said just a few words while folks in other parts of France seem more tolerant/comfortable communicating in French - always with some English thrown in when we reach an impasse!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago