Introduction - Melo Vélo Meanderings - CycleBlaze

May 7, 2018

Introduction

My first bike tour was in the summer of 1972, a 5 day loop around central Ohio with my college roommate.  We took off without much thought - our "gear list" included mosquito head nets from the Columbus Army Surplus store, a down sleeping bag purchased through the Whole Earth Catalogue, and a tube tent borrowed from a skeptical friend the night before we left.  It was 37 years before my next tour, a self-guided trip through Burgundy that thoroughly hooked me on the joys of bike travel.  

 

My sister Jeanie cycling through the vineyards of Burgundy, 2009
Heart 5 Comment 0

There have been a number of guided, self-guided and self-contained tours since the Burgundy trip - most lasting a few days and none more than 2 weeks.  I recently retired and will soon embark on my first extended, mostly solo, self-contained tour.  The route will follow canals and rivers of France, starting and ending on the Canal du Nivernais.  Let the adventure begin!

Canal du Nivernais, 2015
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the Canal du Nivernais, 2015
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0