A Return to Paris - Melo Vélo Meanderings - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2018

A Return to Paris

I arrived in France last Tuesday and am spending a week +1 day in Paris before heading down to Burgundy. The extra day is due to the rolling train strike on Tuesday next.  Not that I mind, as Paris has become my second home over the last few years. 

In 2015, I was fortunate enough to spend 6 months in Paris on sabbatical at the Institut Pasteur.  It was an incredibly enriching time, and I came to appreciate French "civilization" - a civility and civic mindedness that embraces the value of the individual, the family, the community, and the country. Not to mention amazing food and great art! 

This historic building of the Pasteur Institute, opened in 1888, housed both scientific laboratories and the living quarters of Louis Pasteur and his family. The building now serves as home to the Pasteur Museum and the Byzantine funeral chapel where Pasteur is buried. Well worth a visit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pigeon Trompette de la Mort Fig from Au Passage, Paris
Heart 2 Comment 2
Jeanie RedickI could do without the claw visual 😝
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Charmaine RuppoltWow, I haven't seen a pigeon dish before...how does it taste?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Madame Georges Charpentier by Pierre Auguste Renoir
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was back in Paris for 10 weeks last fall, a whirlwind time with lots of visitors and trips to Germany and Italy.  This time, I am just settling in, slipping into an old pair of sneakers. My days have been spent walking the city streets, running small errands, and frequenting my favorite neighborhood shops and cafes.  I also plan to take in previously unseen museums, exhibitions, and opening day at the French Open.   

Rue Mademoiselle, my street in the 15th arrondissement
Heart 0 Comment 0
Place du General Beuret and La Wallace cafe
Heart 1 Comment 0
The best fromager and Fromagerie - Roquefort and well-aged Comté are my faves
Heart 2 Comment 0
Artisan Boucher Charcutier Traiteur - always a big hello and extra sauce for my stuffed tomato
Heart 2 Comment 0
Fruits and Vegetables
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Melodee WalkerA tough way to live
Reply to this comment
5 years ago