uncharacteristic and unfortunate good judgment - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

uncharacteristic and unfortunate good judgment

By the time I walked out of the restaurant the wind had changed directions and the temperature had dropped by 15 degrees. There was an ominous dark cloud flowing in from the south and I could see the writing in the sky, if not on the wall… it was going to rain, and it was going to rain a lot.

Having recently experienced what the rain can do I knew it was risky but, even so, decided to play it by ear and continue riding. When I looked back again a few miles later, the massive wall of blackness was closing on me. I rode another couple of miles but realized when dripping cars started passing me with their headlights on that I needed to be somewhere besides on the road. The lightning was getting closer as well.

I stopped and spent a precious five minutes trying to decide what to do. I was really torn, because I’d ridden 94 miles so far and really wanted to make it 100. I also realized that with the torrent and lightning less than a mile away there was some inherent danger in continuing. 

This once, I used some uncharacteristically Good Judgment and decided a hotel was the best choice.

When the woman at the Ramada Inn told me the cost for one night I almost had a seizure. There was no way I could afford the significantly-more-than-$6.50 cost. Embarrassed, I asked if there was a cheaper place around. She gave me a sympathetic smile and let me know that the place across the street was about as cheap a place as I’d be able to find. 

I reached the other side of the street just as it started to rain. I checked in to the modestly-priced accommodations at The Colonial Inn, showered, bought a giant Pepsi, ate the last bit of my peanut butter and honey, then listened to the weather report on TV. I may as well have just looked out the window. Although there was a heavy downpour initially, it had already stopped raining and the streets were almost dry.  

I laid in bed thinking I had wasted my money. I could’ve made it another six miles, then pitched my tent.  

This was the second of two hotels I stayed in on this trip, and I regretted both. Damn you, Good Judgment!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0