my brilliant idea - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

my brilliant idea

In Hytop (pop 286) I stopped at the store and bought a banana and an RC Cola.  I also bought some baby food. 

The banana tasted like a banana, which was pretty good. The RC was the best one I ever tasted although, in general, you should know that carbonated beverages and bananas don’t go well together. It’s like those volcanoes we made as kids that had vinegar and baking soda - it just starts foaming. Had someone seen me at that moment they probably would’ve thought I was seizing or, since I was in the South, possibly had “hydrophobie.”

The baby food was an ingenious idea of mine, and I wondered why everyone on bike tours didn’t use it. Babies are growing rapidly, and need a lot of nutrients, so it made perfect sense that baby food would be nutritious. Since they’re very picky eaters, it had to be tasty as well. I felt like a brilliant scientist on the threshold of an amazing discovery.  My idea was going to revolutionize nutrition among cyclotourists. This was going to be BIG...   ENORMOUS...

...until I tasted it.

BLECH!!  Now I understood why babies spit it out. 

So did I.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0