camp soaring hawk - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

camp soaring hawk

When William arrived, we both rolled our bikes through the gate and met the Camp Director. Looking back, I can picture the first impression we made… we were soaking wet, covered with mud, and had weird-looking tan lines from our helmets and gloves. 

“Hi. I’m Mark and this is William. I’m a friend of Mollie Marrable.”
(Mark grins with mud on tooth)
(Camp Director thinks, “I’m going to have to have a word with Ms. Marrable.”)

I went to my room and unpacked every single item from my panniers. It was amazing how soaked everything was inside my “water resistant” bags. I could wring water out of every article of clothing.

After I removed it all and draped it all over every available surface in the room, I showered, then took an involuntary nap. The cold and exertion had worn me out. Mollie, William, and I went to the dining hall for dinner, then attended the talent show.

No jokes about the talent show. Too easy.

Mollie Marrable and Mark
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0