a handful of sand in the face - 1982: Stories of the Young and Dumb, aka My First Bike Trip - CycleBlaze

a handful of sand in the face

What felt like a grizzly bear licking my ear startled me awake at 5:30. Or, more likely, it was just the rain hitting the metal roof of the pavilion under which I was sleeping that woke me up. I stayed awake just long enough to register that it was raining, then fell back asleep until 9:30. When I woke up, it was still raining so I played solitaire for a while. 

The pack of cards I used was tiny. It wasn’t an essential item, and I’m not sure why I decided to take it. I took it on my second trip as well, then my third. Now, even though I can play solitaire on my phone I continue to pack it with me on each trip, mainly because it’s the only item that’s been with me on every single tour I’ve taken.

they were in a lot better shape 40 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0

The rain stopped an hour later and the sun peeped out shortly afterwards. I started packing up as the church groundskeeper, a widower, came over. We chatted a few minutes before I took off.

I realized this morning how important sleep is on a bike trip. It’s nice to get a good night’s sleep at home, but it seems like I require more on a bike trip.

Ever since Kansas I’d periodically have an odd sensation. On occasion, it felt like someone was throwing a handful of sand at me.  I was sure THAT wasn’t happening because most of the time I could see for miles and miles in every direction, and knew that I was the only breathing two-legged creature within my field of vision. Today is when I finally learned what that sensation was. When it happened this morning, I looked down and saw I had about fifteen gnats on each arm. I brushed them off, but probably should've considered what my face and hair looked like as well before I went into the next store.

Crossing rivers can be problematic. I didn’t want to come up to the Wabash river, which divides Illinois and Indiana, then not be able to cross. I’d have to backtrack, so I carefully inspected the map for clues. I wanted to make it to Mt. Vernon (the one in Indiana, 72 miles away, not the one I stayed in last night) (there are, apparently, 28 Mt. Vernons in the US) and wondered if there’s a road from Carmi to Mt. Vernon. The map was vague, so while I was buying lunch I asked one of the locals in Dahlgren at the Shell gas station for some assistance. No bridge, so my route would go through Norris City instead. 

Illinois cornfield
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0