Friday, April 17 - LIS to FRA to YYZ to YTS to Cochrane home: Early start to a very long day - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 17, 2015

Friday, April 17 - LIS to FRA to YYZ to YTS to Cochrane home: Early start to a very long day

HARDLY slept since I knew I had to be up early. Up at 4 am. Night bus from the hotel right to the airport by 5 am.

Then, it almost seemed that there was a problem with the bike. Though I had specifically called Air Canada to register the bike with them and was told it was noted for all flights, the clerk told me it was only noted on the FRA to YYZ portion. She kept trying to call customer service but there was no answer. She ended up having to walk over there herself, and when she got back, all was fixed. She tagged the bike, I got my boarding passes, so all I had to do was go over to oversize luggage to drop it off. See you in YYZ, Mr Bike.

Security took a short time. They asked if I had any liquids. Of course not. When my bag went through they told me I had a bottle of liquid. My energy drink! What a dummy. She asked if I wanted to drink it before they tossed it, but I said no thanks and headed toward the gates with my head hung low.

Now I'm in the airport lounge with another hour to spare. Let's hope it goes this well in FRA and YYZ.

Breakfast at the airport. Terminal 1
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
That is my plane Lisboa to Frankfurt. Is it an A319 or A320. Kevin?
- Lisboa, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

13:08 Just arrived at my gate for 13:25 boarding on Lufthansa 470 to Toronto.

17:45 Bike arrived, checked through to Timmins, ran to the gate and.... the plane was delayed for 45 minutes. What a surprise for a later afternoon/evening flight to Timmins. The never-on-time destination.

The Lufthansa flight made it right on schedule, but then I had to go through customs and security and re-check the bike to get to this gate. Then a 45 minute delay.
- Toronto, Ontario
Heart 0 Comment 0

The plane did finally come so I was to Timmins by around 9 pm followed by the longish drive along highway 655 to Cochrane. Though I love to travel, it was nice not to be at the moment.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0