Day 31: Hermann rest day - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2023

Day 31: Hermann rest day

Got to dry out and keep out of that rain while the trails dry

The rain wasn't too much today but still enough that the trail would be muddy. In the shower in the morning I spotted a nasty tick stuck to my shin so I got to use my tick removal tool for the first time. I don't think it had been there long enough to spread Lyme's or anything but I'll watch it for the next while.

I spent the day watching movies and getting my laundry done.

When dinner time came around I walked about 20 min down to a distillery for a meal. There were lots of NZ wines on the menu but I got one of their signature bourbon cocktails since I've got to have the good local stuff. I also got a delicious brisket grilled cheese sandwich. Both good things to warm me up on a dreary day. Just as I was about to sign the check and write my tip amount the server complimented my accent, not a bad tactic to get a few extra dollars out of me.

I walked back to the motel in a nice little misting of rain. Back at the motel I tried to sign up to some American streaming services for movies and tv but none of them would allow me to sign up with an NZ credit card. I had to get a VPN to watch some NZ shows.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0