Day 32: Hermann to Hartsburg - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2023

Day 32: Hermann to Hartsburg

Heart 1 Comment 0

I got out on the trail some time around 8:30 or 9am, not quite early enough for my liking. But at least the weather was mild. I wasn't able to go quite as fast along the trail today, maybe it was rougher or maybe a slight uphill or maybe I just felt sluggish.

Still, the trail conditions were nice and I appreciated the shade. I stopped along the banks of the Missouri for a morning tea and saw what looked like a bald eagle scatter away from the banks. Its peaceful out here. No traffic, just the occasional bikes. There seems to be more the further west I go, people seem to be doing small tours starting on the weekend and running into the early week.

Lots of nice places to rest and eat. So much eating.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I'm going through a lot of water on this trail but there's usually a refill point every hour or two so it's almost impossible to run out. Lots of shade too so I don't need to dump water on myself to cool off.

My bike resting in the shade while I refill my water
Heart 2 Comment 0

I eventually came to Jefferson City, which was a short spur across the river from the trail. I headed into the city and had to climb up a spiralling bike onramp to get onto the bridge. I stopped into a pub and ordered fish and chips and a beer that hit me a little too quickly. The fish and chips were great, we're a long way from the coast but it still reminded me of home.

Makes me want to lick my lips
Heart 2 Comment 0
The spiralling climb up to the bridge. Not too steep to ride up and fun to ride down
Heart 2 Comment 0

Out of Jefferson City it wasn't long before I was on my way to Hartsburg.  There were a couple trees down over the trail but other than that it was pretty uneventful. I could have gone a little further but would have had to pay for camping. Free camping is always a bonus. I set up outside the local playground and charged my devices in the Pavilion. There was a birthday party across the road at the bar but that wasn't going to stop me from sleeping. At the trailhead/bathroom I met a couple cyclists pushing through to the next stop, one of them had come from the TransAm but I don't know if we'll cross paths again.

One of two trees down since the weekend storm. Had to lift my bike over one but I could get around this one
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 98 km (61 miles)
Total: 1,856 km (1,153 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0