Day 30: St Clare to Hermann, starting the Katy Trail - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2023

Day 30: St Clare to Hermann, starting the Katy Trail

Heart 1 Comment 0

I was a bit hungover leaving the campground but still managed to get moving before 9am. I headed on into the main town of St Clare and had the best breakfast sandwich of my trip and a big cup of cold brew coffee. After feeling a bit better I headed towards the Katy Trail.

The roads up to the trail were all very busy but the shoulder was huge and mostly downhill with only gentle grades. It was quite a nice day to rack up some miles.

Unfortunately, even though I couldn't in any way bother them, Missouri drivers weren't enjoying having me near them. I had a driver scream at me to jump scare me, someone rolled coal on me, and I had a bottle cap thrown. Even though I was well off the roadway.

It wasn't long though before I was on the Katy Trail at Dutzow. I tried to install my bell here, since I figured I'd be more likely to need it, but the screw I bought in Carbondale was too long. I attempted to cut it shorter but that was never going to work, so I rode without a bell.

It was hot out so I was relieved to find a caboose turned into and ice cream stand just up the road. I loaded up on ice cream and a milkshake and the owner gave me some pretty good tips on where to stay as I head along the trail. The Katy Trail was nice, very shaded and the trail was smooth and hardpacked so I was able to cruise along at over 20km/h easily.

Just before Hermann, after a few hours on trail, I called up my parents for a chat, before heading off trail and into the town.

Crossing the Missouri River again, the light was absolutely stunning. It's hard to capture it with my phone camera.
Heart 2 Comment 0

 I was only stopping for a burger and an ice cream but I went out to grab something from my bike with my ice cream just as the sky opened and there was torrential rain. I immediately threw my ice cream away and put a cover over my leather saddle. I wasn't going to make it back to the trail and 10 miles along like I had planned so I got on my bike and headed for the city park. It's supposed to be a 2 night minimum stay there but the streets were flooding and I didn't have anywhere else to go. All the hotels I could find online were booked out.

Just before the park I spotted a vacancy sign on a dinky little motel so I immediately stopped and checked in. Lightning was striking within the town just as I stopped so I'm glad I didn't have to stay in a campsite. After checking the weather a bit more thoroughly I decided I'd use Sunday to dry off a bit and do some washing. The trail should be dry by Monday morning.

Today's ride: 97 km (60 miles)
Total: 1,758 km (1,092 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0