Eight Days a Week - The Long Way to Cleveland - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2023

Eight Days a Week

Another long one

The air mattress patch held up overnight, so I got a good night's sleep. The wind had shifted once again, this time coming out of the southeast at a steady 8mph. I got in touch with a warmshowers host about 80 miles away and headed out. The day felt like I was just grinding out the miles, which was actually exactly what I was doing. But I made it to my destination. My host met me on the road about seven miles from his house, and we had a very pleasant ride together.

My air mattress, still inflated in the morning.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Riding on the back roads around here is very depressing. Between the Confederate flags, and the disrespect for the land, it makes one wonder if there is hope for America. The locals that I've met at diners and roadside stops say that morals have declined, but I don't think they've looked in their own front yards.  

Heart 0 Comment 1
Colin BakerThat’s about as bad as it gets.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 2
Colin BakerThat’s what real poverty looks like.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
jim katzinBut it doesn't have to. I saw plenty neatly kept houses that were obviously own be people with no money, but who had respect for the land. This type of mess is just pathological. And the messes generally are not incomplete projects - it's just useless junk that didn't make it past the front yard.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 1
Colin BakerLooks like a an early trappeur from Quebec. They were the ones that settled all the land around the St. Lawrence, going back to the 1600s. They got on great with the tribes in the area, and usually had a Native American wife.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Colin BakerLooks like sandstone, very well constructed. It will be there for a while.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Colin BakerLooks like the Amish.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Vito''s Sandwich shop in Watertown. Highly recommended.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think Pugsley lived on the third floor.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Jonathan DyerMore Ookie than Kookie…
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
I don't know why I took this picture. I guess I just like the name.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nice mailbox holder.
Heart 2 Comment 0
My home for the night.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 87 miles (140 km)
Total: 510 miles (821 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
William Austin87 miles! Not bad for an old man.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago