Day 7 - And on the seventh day... - The Long Way to Cleveland - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2023

Day 7 - And on the seventh day...

...But I couldn't rest

Heart 0 Comment 1
Jonathan DyerWe used to cross over at Cornwall to visit our dog breeder in Alexandria. Lots of slow country roads, reservations and a few penitentiaries. Didn’t see too much weed, that must be a new thing. We cross over closer to Montreal now, more highway time, less sketchy…
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I was awakened in the morning by the melodious sounds of lovely wind chimes. Melodious, but that meant one thing - it was still windy, but the wind speed was reduced to about 10mph, a much more manageable headwind. So, after a much needed rest in a super comfortable bed, and a terrific breakfast of omelet, bacon, and English muffins, I was ready for long ride. Dan aand Barbara, my Bnb hosts were terrific - she even packed 4 chocolate chip cookies for me, which definitely helped get me through the day. Dan gave me good directions to the St. Lawrence Seaway Scenic Route. The directions were perfect!

I had no specific destination for the day, but I wanted to make up some miles. So let the day begin...

The Harrington, a traditional BnB
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dan and Barbara, hosts extraordinaire!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Never underestimate the resourcefulness of a biker. I was able to patch my air mattress and it held overnight. I'll be able to give it a real test tonight.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Colin BakerTire patch should work ok. It’s not under high pressure. Back when my family traveled out West in 1967, had to repair air mattresses, but the patches weren’t as good.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jonathan DyerHope thats the only one you have to use. And not the only one you have… 😬
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Upgrading electricity distribution is essential for the planned transition away from carbon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bike Route 37
Heart 1 Comment 0
Entering the reservation.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Colin BakerIs this the Mohawks?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
jim katzinYes, it's a sub tribe of the Mohawk nation, I think.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Cannibis seems to be the main source of revenue on the reservation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taking advantage of every vice.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Colin BakerI wonder how many visitors they get.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
on one side of the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
and right across the road. Dispensaries were everywhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not my idea of a bike route
Heart 0 Comment 3
Colin BakerPaved shoulder on a 4 lane highway? No way! Usually bikes are not allowed on divided highways at all, per federal highway regulations. I have never seen this before

Research has shown that your body involuntarily responds to vehicles passing you from behind, especially if you can’t hear them approaching. 30 mph is modest, 50 mph is significant, 70 mph can be a serious jolt of adrenaline. The farther you are from the car the less the effect. But a paved shoulder can only get you six feet away when cars are going 70. So your body is sensing danger almost all the time.

No way should that be considered a bike route. Better to find a back road even if it is longer. Clearly this was done by transportation engineers who had never been on a bike. If federal money was used to build the highway, it generally is not allowed at all, so I am very surprised to see this.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jonathan DyerThat’s a big Nope from me too 😳
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
jim katzinNew York has a lot of bike routes that shouldn't be ridden on. Route 5, that I rode with Will 10 years ago comes to mind.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
First glance at the St. Lawrence.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not the Okracoke but a steamship nontheless
Heart 0 Comment 1
Colin BakerThe Great Lakes and parts of the St. Lawrence have some huge tankers and bulk carriers.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

At about 4:00 in the afternoon, I ran into a wall of bugs that lasted for several miles. I couldn't imagine what it would have been like on a motorcycle, but at my next stop, there were a couple of motorcyclists swearing up and down about the f'ing bugs. Their windshields and helmets were absolutely covered in splattered bugs. At the convenience store where I stopped, I inquired about the bugs. They are shad flies. They blow in off the river, usually around Memorial Day, but like everything else, they're out early.

Heart 3 Comment 0
You never know what you're going to see when you travel slowly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My home for the night.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Colin BakerLooks very new which is good, but not much better than sleeping in a field. A pit toilet is better than nothing I suppose.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
jim katzinThe walls shielded me from the wind, and the toilet didn't stink at all, so actually a slight upgrade from the field. Plus, I won't have to take down the tent in the morning.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just before sunset, a border patrol agent pulled into the parking lot. I introduced myself, but he said he had no concerns about me. I felt safe.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 81 miles (130 km)
Total: 423 miles (681 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Colin Baker81 miles is a lot, but it is flat. Your first day of 75 miles in mountainous terrain was pretty extreme, especially with a heavily loaded bike.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago