Day 89 Douglas to Leavenworth WA - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2023

Day 89 Douglas to Leavenworth WA

I love cycling in the early morning. The light is so special. Some places highlight that more than others. Eastern Washington is certainly one of those locales. Also, the wind is usually lighter in the morning but not today. The ride to Waterville was slow; I kept reminding myself not to fight the wind. 

Between Douglas and Waterville
Heart 4 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillYour photo really captures the beautiful light!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Waterville is actually a sweet little town with multiple eateries, a nice park and a nice downtown. 

Entering town, the skies look ominous
Heart 2 Comment 0
Catholic Church with interesting steeple
Heart 3 Comment 0
One side of downtown
Heart 0 Comment 0
Odd combination
Heart 2 Comment 0
Inviting park
Heart 0 Comment 0

Outside of Waterville there is a steep 1.2 mile hill. The wind was so fierce, I walked half of it for fear of being blown off kilter or into traffic. Better to be safe. But once I reached the top, I was mesmerized by the landscape in the morning light. 

Heart 7 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillVery dramatic lighting, plus the expanse of the setting. Beautiful.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillThree alien invaders facing the natural world.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0

This vast beauty was soon followed by a steep winding six mile downhill. The shoulder was variable from good to unusable to nonexistent. In addition, there was an area of single lane due to construction. I was overjoyed to be done with it. 

Route 2 passed through Orondo then followed the Columbia River. 

Heart 6 Comment 0

Further along, I turned around when I saw a skeleton out of the corner of my eye. 

It appears to be a deer. Strange that the front feet are so well preserved.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got on the Rocky Reach Trail at Lincoln Rock State Park which also followed the Columbia River and eventually merged with the Apple Capital Recreation Loop Trail and took me over the river to Wenatchee. 

As I was helping myself to the first wild blackberries since returning to Washington, I noticed two of these spiders
Heart 2 Comment 4
Scott AndersonA garden spider of some kind, probably an orb weaver. There are over 3,000 species of orb weavers worldwide and they’re not my specialty so that’s as far as I can take it. Bill will probably know.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltScott is correct. It looks like probably a western spotted orb weaver.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/123713-Neoscona-oaxacensis/browse_photos?place_id=46

With its web on milkweed seed pods and blackberry briars.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Sandy EarleThanks for the info Scott and Bill!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Julie O’NeillIn the expanse of the west, you take the time to notice the smallest details. An orb weaver on Milkweed. All of this written in your memories of this adventure. ❤️
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

I was able to follow back roads through Wenatchee and didn’t have to embark on Route 2 again until the northern edge of town. It was very busy so I was happy to finally reach Leavenworth. I did laundry then Peter, Henry and I went out to dinner at Yodelins. I had a delicious rice bowl with Lummi Island Wild salmon. Everything you need in a meal except dessert in one bowl. 

Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 3,358 miles (5,404 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Nancy GrahamYou have not posted in a few days now and that is unlike you. I hope your are just taking some down time and enjoying where you are. But I have been just a touch concerned.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Elizabeth KilanowskiSandy, are you home? Inquiring minds want to know!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Nancy GrahamThanks Nancy. I’ve been in a Wi-Fi and cell service void. And after a long day I don’t have the patience to wait hours for photos to download. Then there’s my knack for failing to save an entry and losing it😬
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Elizabeth KilanowskiI’m back!!!!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago