Day 88 Coulee City to Douglas WA - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2023

Day 88 Coulee City to Douglas WA

Today was supposed to wa 40 mile ride with 2 significant climbs: one for four mile at mile 2 and one for five miles at mile 20. There also was a five mile descent at mile thirteen.  It was a misty morning and I was about a mile into the first climb when I saw a ROAD CLOSED sign with a detour. The sign also indicated that the construction was 8 miles away. I knew that there had been a mudslide and washout that had taken out all but part of one lane of the highway. I figured I could get through on that remaining highway so I proceeded. I went about 8.5 miles and didn’t see any construction. Then I remembered that there was a black line sort of hanging to the left of the number 8. So if the slide was 18 miles away it would be at the end of the huge descent or in the second climb. The thought of going all that distance on the chance that I might or might not get through b seemed too risky. I turned around and went back to the detour, pulled over and looked at Google maps. The detour would add at least 20 miles. A road crew pulled up next to me and asked if I needed anything. I told them I was trying to get to Waterville; they said “don’t take the detour, go through on the closed road and they’ll let you through”.  So back up the four mile hill. The ride was actually quite calming as there was essentially no traffic. I had the road to myself. After the climb I was atop a huge plateau of mostly wheat fields for six to seven miles. Then the five mile descent- I just let it rip as I had the road to myself! 

The construction started shortly after the beginning of the five mile climb. I told the first crew that the road crew at the detour said they’d let me through. The next crew wanted to be sure the first crew said I could go through. What did they think? That I had tassered them all and busted through? After the construction, it was a peaceful climb up to another plateau of wheat fields and farms. I love this part of Washington. 

When I was about seven miles from Waterville, Peter called and said the campground was awful so he was going to check out an RV park in Douglas, about 4 miles closer. And that’s where I found him and Henry. The place has an abundance of whimsy and gardens and offbeat humor. 

The original elevation profile
Heart 1 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillI have thought you were Superwoman for many years...how much more proof is needed? : )
all these climbs!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Crossing the south end of Bank’s Lake
Heart 1 Comment 0
The first wheat plateau
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the five mile descent
Heart 3 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillOh, I wish I were doing this one with you!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
 
I ate lunch at the other end of the closed road. Those green sandbags make nice impromptu stools
Heart 1 Comment 0

I tried to take a panoramic because you feel like you can see forever in all directions
Heart 0 Comment 0
Farmer, on the way to Douglas. The town is appropriately named.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Odd humor
Heart 0 Comment 0
Whimsy
Heart 0 Comment 0
and more whimsy
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 3,311 miles (5,329 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0